We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving and inspiring experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A moving and inspiring experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the enormous queues for the Anne Frank House we decided to give it a miss and go instead to the Ten Boom house in Haarlem. SO glad we did!! We were in a group of only 6 with a lovely fellow, a volunteer, as our guide. Having read Corrie's book many years ago it was quite a surreal experience stepping into the house where this amazing story of a family's heroic actions during WW2 took place. Amazing that there is no charge for the tour; you have the choice to make a donation or purchase book, DVD or such. The time we spent there was probably a highlight of our 6 week holiday. So much that you see is about wars, excessive wealth and opulence, battles for power and man's inhumanity to man. This place is about the bravery of a family with strong beliefs, who refused to be cowed into inaction when they saw their fellow man being treated inhumanely. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    45
    15
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very interesting for those interested in Holocaust history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I learned a lot on this tour. You begin in a lovely sitting room full of antiques,etc while an excellent guide gives you the historic background of the home, the family and how they decided to hide Jews from the Nazis. They were a wonderful Christian family who tried to do the right thing and once they were caught endured the concentration camps. Corrie, after surviving the camps, preached her story and the Gospel around the world. you go to see the actual "hiding place" and if you are like me will come away in awe of the sacrifices some people in the world have made in His name.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Significant Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Corrie Ten Boom (CTB) story and house in the middle of Haarlem (incidentally, stay in Haarlem as the jumping off location for Amsterdam and other Netherlands locations) is a historical gem. The Ten Booms were willing, as Christians, to eschew danger/death in order to hide and protect Jews from the occupying Nazis during WWII. Their house along with the actual hiding place is perfectly preserved. Many similarities to the Anne Frank house and hiding place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go expecting the evangelism and you will be fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgable, had lived thru world war two in holland, and was quite religious. As was corrie ten boom. Our guide said there are 16 volunteers who give tours and it seems from the reviews their level of religious fervor varies widely. I am not religious but was happy to hear our guides perspective. Just roll with who you get. The story and the actual home is an incredible experience. Really remarkable. We head to amsterdam next. Have absolutely loved haarlem. To visit here and go to frans hals museum, grote ketk, and ten boom is well worth a day trip or overnight from the city. Really? Not to be missed. Food and wine very good too. And reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting History Obscured by Christian Preachiness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This historical house offered promise of an interesting slice of life in World War II, but was pretty much ruined by the tour guide. She was completely "over the top" on the religious aspects of it--to the point of really warping the history. I think references to the Christian beliefs of the Ten Boom family are completely appropriate, but this should be an historical tour, not a hellfire-and-brimstone sermon.

The other objection we had was that it was way too long. The excessive length was caused by the inappropriate sermonizing about Christianity.

I read some other TripAdvisor reviews, and it seems like our experience was not necessarily the case for other visitors. It just depends who your guide turns out to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.