We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting for those interested in Holocaust history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very interesting for those interested in Holocaust history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I learned a lot on this tour. You begin in a lovely sitting room full of antiques,etc while an excellent guide gives you the historic background of the home, the family and how they decided to hide Jews from the Nazis. They were a wonderful Christian family who tried to do the right thing and once they were caught endured the concentration camps. Corrie, after surviving the camps, preached her story and the Gospel around the world. you go to see the actual "hiding place" and if you are like me will come away in awe of the sacrifices some people in the world have made in His name.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    41
    15
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Significant Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Corrie Ten Boom (CTB) story and house in the middle of Haarlem (incidentally, stay in Haarlem as the jumping off location for Amsterdam and other Netherlands locations) is a historical gem. The Ten Booms were willing, as Christians, to eschew danger/death in order to hide and protect Jews from the occupying Nazis during WWII. Their house along with the actual hiding place is perfectly preserved. Many similarities to the Anne Frank house and hiding place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go expecting the evangelism and you will be fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgable, had lived thru world war two in holland, and was quite religious. As was corrie ten boom. Our guide said there are 16 volunteers who give tours and it seems from the reviews their level of religious fervor varies widely. I am not religious but was happy to hear our guides perspective. Just roll with who you get. The story and the actual home is an incredible experience. Really remarkable. We head to amsterdam next. Have absolutely loved haarlem. To visit here and go to frans hals museum, grote ketk, and ten boom is well worth a day trip or overnight from the city. Really? Not to be missed. Food and wine very good too. And reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting History Obscured by Christian Preachiness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This historical house offered promise of an interesting slice of life in World War II, but was pretty much ruined by the tour guide. She was completely "over the top" on the religious aspects of it--to the point of really warping the history. I think references to the Christian beliefs of the Ten Boom family are completely appropriate, but this should be an historical tour, not a hellfire-and-brimstone sermon.

The other objection we had was that it was way too long. The excessive length was caused by the inappropriate sermonizing about Christianity.

I read some other TripAdvisor reviews, and it seems like our experience was not necessarily the case for other visitors. It just depends who your guide turns out to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deeply Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having read The Hiding Place, I was so excited to get to see where the whole story happened. It was incredible to sit in the Ten Boom's home listening to the story of their courageous faith in hiding Jews in their home. Standing in the actually hole in the wall that was the hiding place made me tear up. I will never forget my experience at the Ten Boom House. It is a place everyone should visit at least once in their lives. I really appreciated the tour guide's simple realness and how the place was not commercialized and touristy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.