We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inspirational visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
19 Barteljorisstraat | North Holland, 2002 CE Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Haarlem
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An inspirational visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We knew the story of the Hiding Place and had reserved a place on the visit while staying in Amsterdam, which I would recommend for groups or larger families. The tour starts in the living room with a narrative of the story and of the Christian faith of those living there during the dark years of World War 2. This was followed by a visit to the Hiding Place itself - with an opportunity to crawl into it - and description of various pictures and artefacts from that time and later. A moving experience, which I recommend for anyone who can cope with steep staircases! There is no charge for the tour, but donations are sought and some merchandise (books, DVDs etc) are available.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    45
    15
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kualalumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Getting to know more about the life of Corrie ten Boom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was great and a wonderful experience visiting the house of Corrie ten Boom. The entire tour lasts about an hour and it is free of charge. During the tour we are able to see the Hiding place where she and family kept the Jews during WWII.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extraordinary courage brought to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited the Corrie ten Boom house in Haarlem on a wet April day, but this was soon forgotten as the inspirational tale of the ten Boom family was brought to life by our volunteer guide. He related the story of the ten Boom's family courageous support for Jews and resistance members during the war, of the family's betrayal to the German occupiers, of Corrie's father Casper's death in prison, and of Corrie's sister Betsie's death in Ravensbruck concentration camp. It was extraordinary to stand in the confined space behind a fake wall where six people hid for nearly three days after the family's arrest, before escaping under the noses of the Germans.

Although the story was told from a strong Christian viewpoint, we did not find this at all a problem, and, indeed, it gave perspective to the courage and sacrifice of the ten Boom family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Made the book come alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter (13 years old) and I had read The Hiding Place just before visiting. (Which I would highly recommend, whether you visit there or not.) We easily arranged to go on a tour, in English, via email before we left the US. The four members of our family were alone on the tour and we really loved seeing the home, hiding place, and hearing the story of the ten Boom family. The guide did tell us before we entered that she would be telling us their story, which was a Christian story and she hoped we were aware of that. As other reviewers have explained, you sit in a living room, and listen to the guide tell the story of the home and inhabitants, which did include some of what Christianity is about. Next, you get a tour of the home, including having the opportunity to stand in the hiding place and really see how small it was. There were other interesting things on display in the home that the guide explained to us. Since we had arranged to go on a tour, we paid 2.5 Euros each. There were also some nice books for sale to support the home. Extremely worthwhile!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Moving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

CLOSED Sunday, Monday and holidays! Don't plan a trip on a Monday like I did. I usually check times and such, but this visit was the spur of the moment sort of thing. In fact, much of Haarlem was closed on Monday. http://www.corrietenboom.com/index_en.html

With that said, it is a good place to visit if you have the chance. I thought it was a bit more interesting than the Anne Frank house. I liked that you are taken in smaller groups and not just shuffled in. I also got a sense of what it was like during that time.

It was a moving experience and I recommend seeing it. Haarlem is older than Amsterdam (I was told) and it feels a little more inviting and fewer tourists. (I went during the low season).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corrie ten Boom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.