We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if not for the weed fumes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bagels & Beans

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bagels & Beans
Gierstraat 49, 2011 Haarlem, The Netherlands (Centrum)
023-5514554
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 199 Restaurants in Haarlem
Neighborhood: Centrum
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centrum
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice if not for the weed fumes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Usually a nice place for a good coffee and a light lunch. Quite possibly the best bagels in the Netherlands.

This afternoon we walked out again because apparently it's now allowed to use weed on their 2 table terrace. That blows into the place and sticks around.

Shame, used to be one of my favourite stops for coffee and a treat, now it's going on the maybe list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chased out of the restaurant for not paying!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Been going here for years, the bagels and juices are good, coffee is not so great. Unfortunately just been chased out the restaurant for apparently not paying (when I did already pay) and got a very poor apology... Very embarrassing and won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I love Bagel & Beans in Haarlem. Just avoid going there Saturdays - it is too difficult to get a table.
The staff is nice and the bagels are great! The coffee is pretty good, but I usually take a chai latte.
I guess the only advice I would give the owner is - get bigger plates, it is difficult too eat the bagels from those small plates (without spilling on the table).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I like bagels, so it was a pleasant surprise when we saw this little cafe. We took chocolate milk first and it was a real one! We were given big glasses of warm milk and a shot full of chocolate beans each.
The bagels were also good. We could choose from seven different types of bread. Cream cheese was also proposed in four different variations!
I think it is a nice alternative to tosti or burgers!))

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you expect wonderful dining from a place whose name has "bagels" then you will be disappointed. If you expect a coffee and variations on bagels then you'll be fine. I can't comment on the coffee ( i had a juice) but the bagel was great. Some of the bagels are the "baked" variety (think a bagel shaped roll) and some are the authentic boiled bagels (my favourite).

The waitress could have been more interested - if she was bored by her job, she let it show. But I don't let that worry me. You shouldn't be disappointed. We finished with some oliebollen down the road from a van.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagels & Beans also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bagels & Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagels & Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.