We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Malts Hotel

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added B&B Malts Hotel to your Saves list
B&B Malts Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Zijlstraat 56-58, 2011TP Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My sister and I were spending a week in the Netherlands. B&B Malts in Haarlem was our home base for much of the week. Everything about this B&B is wonderful. Helpful and personable owners, scrumptious breakfast including fresh squeezed orange juice, ideal location right off the main historic square and a short walk to the train station, restaurants and shopping. From the airport you can take an express bus that drops you off right around the corner from the B&B. A quick 20 minute train ride takes you to the heart of Amsterdam.

The B&B has been completely renovated since Henk and Anne Marie became proud owners. Beautiful.

Highly recommend this place! This is the second time I have stayed at B&B Malts, and am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A delightful B&B in the old city of Haarlem, The Netherlands. Henk and AnneMarie were delightful hosts, very helpful with ideas for our few days in the old city. They served an excellent breakfast each morning, with fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh coffee brewed by the cup. The room and toilet in the accommodation were well appointed and very comfortable. The stairs are steep, but Henk helped with our luggage. Since we arrived early, Henk and AnneMarie held our luggage until our room was ready and we went exploring.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, seek a room near to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There aren't that many options in Haarlem, especially on a weekend in the summer. The hotels are quite expensive. This was a good alternative. The room was small, but was airy with high ceilings. There was no closet and the bathroom was kind of crammed into the corner of the room with no window to the outside, but the bedroom had a large window and nice rooftop view. The staircase up the the room was steep and twisty, but the host carried my bag up. The kitchen/dining room is very pleasant, both for the free breakfast and just for hanging out. They have cold beers for sale and it's nice to grab a beer and relax in the dining room, watching pedestrians from the large windows. The hosts were extremely friendly and gave good suggestions for bars and nightlife. The price was pretty reasonable considering that this is a small town with limited accommodations. The location is great--not right on the main square, so quiet, but not out of the way, either (everything's pretty close together).

If I returned to Haarlem, I would stay here. And, by the way, if you are planning a trip to Amsterdam, consider going to Haarlem instead. Haarlem has canals and charming dutch people and nice architecture and museums without all the grime and tourism you'll find in Amsterdam. I flew into Amsterdam, then jumped on a bus to Haarlem, which took 30 minutes and cost about $10. Consider skipping Amsterdam in favor of friendlier, cleaner, more authentic Haarlem.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent 3 nights in Malts B&B in Haarlem. Situated very close to the main square, restaurants and a lovely shopping area, there was also plenty of interesting sights, historical architecture etc within easy walking distance... As for the Hotel and it's proprietors, Henk and Annemarie, we loved it all. Lovely people for whom nothing is too much trouble, including helping carry your luggage up the stairs. The rooms we had were very large, with new bathroom facilities, and everything was spotless!!! A very comprehensive delicious breakfast was available each morning with complimentary tea and coffee available during the day. Henk was also very willing to help with our computer problem on the last day - in the middle of the breakfast rush - and kept smiling through it all... Sorry not to have been able to say goodbye, Annemarie, but will say, thank you both for everything!

Room Tip: There is a choice of smaller rooms and of larger rooms too. If you are only planning on sleeping in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From our initial warm welcome to the great breakfast choices to the helpful advice provided by our hosts, this was a wonderful place to stay in charming Haarlem. The newly-renovated rooms were clean and lovely. Our back room with a terrace was very, very quiet and we were happy with our choice. We will definitely recommend Malts to our traveling friends and will stay there again if we go to Haarlem!

Room Tip: The back Terrace room was great. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a delightful experience in heavenly Haarlem, Netherlands. After travelling 30+ hours from the USA my husband and I were ready for a comfy bed and reassurance our comforts weren't going to be compromised. Henke greeted us at the door, showed us to the reception room, and gave us all the time we wanted to explain his lovely hotel plus sights in Haarlem. He and Annemarie completely renovated the perfectly located historical building 1.5 years ago. The spacious room we had next to the reception room was state-of-the-art everything. The shower was my favorite--hand held option and sleek and clean as I have ever seen. Bed was to die for comfortable and cozy. Windows insulated to block noise. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to me and this was ultimate. Location, cleanliness, hospitality, value was a 5. The frosting on the cake was the delicious and nutritious breakfast--included in the rate. I will go back again and refer Malts Hotel to everyone I meet!

Room Tip: Loved the large room close to reception but didn't see others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Malts hotel when we arrived we had mixed feelings its was a door in between the shops with some lovely potted flowers outside ! BUT how lovely the hotel was, very clean, friendly, helpful, its has been newly-renovated rooms and walk in shower rooms, lovely decorated, the breakfasts was lovely, freshly squeezed orange juice and all the tea and coffee you can drink ! Also a fridge stocked up with all sorts of drink ! and a little book where they trust you to write what you have and pay the next day ! the next time we go to haarlem ( such a lovely, clean place ) we will be phoning and booking our rooms with this lovely couple Henk and Annemarie, Thank you for such a lovely stay in your hotel ! will recommend it !

Room Tip: the rooms are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Malts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Malts Hotel

Address: Zijlstraat 56-58, 2011TP Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Malts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant historic city centre of Haarlem you will find the intimate B&B Malts Hotel. Our informal Bed and Breakfast Hotel is located in a beautiful monumental building. (Recently renovated) The hotel offers different rooms from small/ twin room to standard to a large room for 4 persons. Typical to a monumental building, all rooms have their own set up and character. All 14 rooms have a private ensuite bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Furthermore all rooms have digital TV/ Radio. Free WIFI is available throughout the whole hotel. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. We offer the personal touch of a B&B with, if desired, the privacy of a hotel. Look forward welcoming you at Malts Hotel! Henk & Annemarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Malts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Malts Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Malts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.