We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ver good, personal service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Malts Hotel

Save Saved
You added B&B Malts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Malts Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Zijlstraat 56-58, 2011TP Haarlem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ver good, personal service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Malts is a small hotel in an excellent location offering spacious newly-renovated bed and shower rooms with and excellent breakfasts. The rates charged represent good value. What makes Malts special is the personal service provided by the owners, Henk and Anne-marie. They make breakfast themselves (freshly-squeezed juice, delicious yoghurts, cereals sliced meats and cheese, boiled eggs, fresh rolls, preserves, tea of coffee) and are very willing to help with advice on sights, restaurants, travel and administration. It's a 5 Euro, 35 minute journey on the 300 bus from Schipol, and Haarlem Railway Station with frequent quick connections to Amsterdam Centraal is about 12 minutes walk away. We arrived in the late afternoon and followed the straightforward self-service check-in procedure. There was a welcoming letter in our room recommending a nearby restaurant which was very good

Room Tip: The hotel is over a coffee shop which is closed in the evenings and is approached by a typically (st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Exceeded our expectations, very organised for our late arrival. Room spotless & beautifully decorated.Small by American standards but perfectly fine for us. Compact bathroom, also spotlessly clean with fresh towels & we loved that the shampoo/ shower gel was New Zealand. Amazing healthy yummy selection for breakfast. Yogurt & fresh fruit with muesli, followed by a warm croissant with butter & jam. The hosts made you a cup of tea or coffee & fresh squeezed orange juice. They also had a large selection of breads, cheeses & cold meats. A very European breakfast which we really enjoy. A small glass of fresh hand picked flowers on the table completed the ambience.Warm & friendly hosts. The Hotel is situated right in the hub of Haarlem so handy to walk & explore. 5 star in our eyes. OK trip advisor I'm running out of words, why do I have to write 200? Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One would say a B&B is a cheap way of escaping the expensive branded hotels but nothing more is true. The owners, Henk and Annemarie clearly understands how to treat their guests in a sincere honest way. Rarely found these days. Situated in the heart of Haarlem it served my purpose of getting around, I wish them well and fully recommend this little heaven to all travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great place. My parents have stayed at Malts a number of times and had recommended that we should stay there on our recent family trip around Europe. What wonderful hosts Henk and Annemarie were - we were made to feel part of the family from the moment we arrived. From Henk helping us with our (substantial) bags, to the freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee made in the mornings for breakfast.

The location is idea, being just around the corner from the Grote Markt. Handy to the bus to Schiphol, and all other major attractions. Railway station also only a short walk away.

We were a family of five and had a large, airy spacious room with space for us all. Facilities have recently been renovated and were fresh, new and welcoming.

I would recommend Malts in a heartbeat, and look forward to our next stay! :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on a layover and loved it. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and modern. Haarlem is a charming, friendly, wonderful town, and I'd highly recommend it along with this hotel. If you are coming from Schiphol airport, this place couldn't be any more convenient, just 5 minutes walk from the #300 bus. Plus, it's only a 15 minute train ride to Amsterdam. (However, after staying here I doubt I'll ever stay in Amsterdam again!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I can't speak highly enough of Malts Hotel, or Annmarie and Henk, the proprietors. We were a late arrival so they emailed clear instructions on how to find the hotel and gain entry. In the room was a welcome letter giving us all the information we needed.
The hotel has undergone a massive refurbishment and it shows. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean (as was the entire hotel), and had everything we neededl. Furnishings were bright, cheerful and contemporary. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, with fresh flowers on every table, and Henk and Annmarie on hand to dispense tea, coffee etc, and lots of useful information on what to see and do, travel hints, and book trips and tickets for us. They were knowledgeable and really welcoming and friendly, lovely people!! We'll be back!
Haarlem is a delightful city and I would recommend using it as a base from which to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quitter. The stairs are steep (this is an old building) so ask for 1st floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

-There is nothing to say about this place that isn't positive!

As soon as we arrived, we had a fabulous welcome from the owners, Anne Marie & Henk.

We had a large party staying at the hotel, and all the others members of our group were equally overjoyed at my choice of accommodation.

- Beds were majorly comfy, and didn't want to get out of bed!
-Cleanliness was second to none. Cleanest I have probably ever come across! Our rooms were cleaned and checked each day, and we never had to ask for anything.
-This couple clearly love their business and it shows in every element of our stay.
-If we needed any advice, this was given, and even volunteered should we look a little lost!
- Breakfast was absolutely lovely and refreshing and we all enjoyed.
- They kindly provided Free Tea & Coffee & Fruit all day. Lovely touch!
-Even had a stocked fridge and an 'honesty book' to bill you later, which was such a fab idea and we all bought stuff throughout our stay when we wanted something without having to visit local shops! The kind of people who stay here will be respectful of the owners as they are so lovely and kind to their guests.
- The décor was very cute and made us all feel so at home. It felt like we were made to feel part of the family, and a lot of well placed trust is given to us as guests. This appealed to all of us who respect others & we all wanted to return for any Amsterdam trips in future.
- Location wise, this place is spot on! Close to Amsterdam Central, close to Zandvoort where we headed each day. Beautiful area and lots to see and do. - I can't wait till the next time!!
- Very handy having free wifi!

Highly recommend this B&B and I give it top marks all round and so pleased we found this little gem of a place in such lovely surroundings! :)

Room Tip: As mentioned on their website, do remember to bring cash to pay for your room, as they do clearly me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Malts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Malts Hotel

Address: Zijlstraat 56-58, 2011TP Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Malts Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant historic city centre of Haarlem you will find the intimate B&B Malts Hotel. Our informal Bed and Breakfast Hotel is located in a beautiful monumental building. (Recently renovated) The hotel offers different rooms from small/ twin room to standard to a large room for 4 persons. Typical to a monumental building, all rooms have their own set up and character. All 14 rooms have a private ensuite bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Furthermore all rooms have digital TV/ Radio. Free WIFI is available throughout the whole hotel. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. We offer the personal touch of a B&B with, if desired, the privacy of a hotel. Look forward welcoming you at Malts Hotel! Henk & Annemarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your B&B Malts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Malts Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Malts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.