We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Malts Hotel

Save Saved
You added B&B Malts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
B&B Malts Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Zijlstraat 56-58, Haarlem 2011TP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Annemarie & Henks are such a super hosts ! Looks more like hotel then B&B! Comfortable rooms with nice view. Love the health breakfast menu and very generous on the coffee. Owners very helpful by provided information on tourist location and transportation to take. They even printed copy of Haarlem map for their guests! Wish we have stay more days. Thanks for your hospitality Annemarie and Henks.

Room Tip: Light luggage easy to carry up to steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

First off, the room we had was really small. But, we were not in the room much and its size was out-weighed by this hotel's great location and friendly owners. Annemarie and Henk were super hosts. Great daily breakfast, great hotel location (down the street from the Makt) and quiet room. At first I thought the hotel was above a bar (looking at a photo online), but it is only above a quiet coffee shop -- that serves fantastic hot chocolate. We spent two weeks in The Netherlands and Belgium and Haarlem was my favorite place and my stay at Hotel Malts helped make it great. Thanks Annemarie and Henk

Room Tip: Not sure if the rooms on the street were noisy, but we always just ask for a quiet room. Again, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in Haarlem one week at the end of may (honeymoon..with wife and our little son!).
Malts B&B offered us a comfortable accommodation in a flat not so far from the hotel.
Very beautiful (a part from the steep stairs, typical of Holland houses!) and with a nice view on the channel.
So we do hope to come to Holland again and for sure we will ask for Malts B&B services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good B&B in a central location. We had a big airy room at the front of the building with comfortable beds but a surprisingly small en-suite shower room - a bit too small to use comfortably. Owners were extremely welcoming and provided good information on the city. Beware Friday nights - it was extremely noisy into the morning and as it was so hot we had windows open for ventilation. Very little sleep as a result. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a good B&B hotel but noisy when Haarlem is alive at the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived by train in Haarlem. The walk was short and Malts was very easy to find. Along the way you pass several shops and cafe's, which makes it a nice route. Henk and Annemarie, our hosts, welcomed us with a cup of coffee and we immediately felt at home. We were given some great tourist information and given suggestions on what to do and were to eat in Haarlem. (Ask about the Jopenkerk brewery, a great place to have a beer!).
We booked one of the large rooms, which I can definitely recommend. The price is higher but it is worth the space you get in return. The room was large and airy with windows along one whole side of the room and beautiful high ceilings. Comfy beds and a great shower! The room is also very clean! There is some noise from the street at night of people passing by (our room looked out onto the Zijlstraat) but this is obvious if you want to stay right in the centre of Haarlem. You really can't beat the location. Close to the station and all the shops and restaurants. Everything is just a few minutes away. Breakfast was lovely. Fresh orange juice, coffee and a choice of breads, croissants, boiled eggs, meats, jam and cheeses. All in all we really had a lovely stay at Malt and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Haarlem or as an option for visiting Amsterdam which is just a 15 min train ride away. Thanks Henk and Annemarie for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: Book one of the larger rooms for the extra space. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were the first guests for the new owners Hank and Anna Marie. They were very welcoming and offered us coffee and tea upon arrival. The hotel is clean comfortable with spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. Location is perfect for exploring the area and getting to and from the train station. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh espresso a real treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently stayed here and discovered that hosts Hank & Anna Marie had just taken over the Malts the prior week! They both have hotel management experience and were delightful hosts who were happy to give us tips on our travels. The rooms were clean, spacious and large and have a private bath, but they plan to do a complete renovation in the winter of 2014 which will make them even nicer. Haarlem is a delight and we are so glad that we stayed here instead of Amsterdam, which we traveled to twice by train (approx. 20 minutes). The Malts is a short walk from the main square and the train station. We enjoyed a delicious large breakfast every day in a sunny, flower-filled dining area with fresh coffee or tea made to order. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I was traveling with my 2 teenage children and sister. The hotel is also very convenient to a bus which leaves every 6 minutes for the airport. So glad we didn't have to take the train back to Amsterdam to get to the airport! We took a day trip to Edam and it was definitely worth the trip! I recommend purchasing the 2.50 euro guide book and taking the self-guided stroll through this charming town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. However, the large rooms for 3 people are in the front and the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Malts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Malts Hotel

Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Malts Hotel
Address: Zijlstraat 56-58, Haarlem 2011TP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Malts Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our informal Bed and Breakfast Hotel Malts is situated in a beautiful monumental building. We are located in the centre of Haarlem, on one of the most inviting shoppingstreets in the city. Malts has 14 rooms from small (2pers) to large (4pers on request). Price range from 79 euro for two persons including breakfast. Haarlem is a historical town with an attractive offer of cultural heritage, shops, museums, restaurants and terraces.There is no better way to begin your day than with a traditional dutch breakfast buffet, a freshly sqeezed orange juice and a nice espresso that is offered daily in our charming breakfast room.With the beach (Bloemendaal and Zandvoort), the nature reserve Kennemerduinen nearby and Amsterdam just a 15 minute train trip away, Haarlem is the ideal place if you want to enjoy a mix of city, culture, nature and beach. You are most welcome at B&B hotel Malts!Henk & Annemarie B&B Hotel Malts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your B&B Malts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Malts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.