We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Restaurant Markerwaard

Brasserie Restaurant Markerwaard
Dijk 62, 1601 GK Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
+31 228 321 570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Enkhuizen
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since 1972, our cozy restaurant housed in an old warehouse, and is decorated with many maritime attributes and ship-models. From our restaurant you have a wonderful view over the old port and the Drommedaris. You can lunch or dine in a maritime atmosphere. Our terrace on the water is worth a visit for a delicious lunch or an intimate dinner on a sultry summer evening. Our restaurant is ideal for small and large groups up to 160 people. At your request we would be happy to send you a price estimate for your dinner, party or lunch. We can compose a package for you for any occasion.
Enkhuizen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited here on our first night in Enkhuizen. The staff were welcoming and friendly, even to us English-speakers. The food was really well cooked and came with a great range of accompaniments. They also had a good range of beer on offer. The atmosphere was a good balance of lively and local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food was nice but my partner and I both found our waitress to be quite rude. Despite having an English menu up outside the restaurant, we found the staff to be less than accommodating towards non Dutch-speakers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Food, Rude Waitress.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Enkhuizen because it had an English version of the menu, and we wanted a nice relaxing start. Unfortunately, that was not to be.

On entering the restaurant and asking for a table, the only English-speaking waitress told us, in a most disparaging tone, that she "supposed" we could have the last table. We were given menus, but found that my partner had been given a version of the menu lacking the English translation. We asked for a replacement, and were, distractedly, told that we'd been given one. When the waitress finally returned to take our orders (with no menu being given), we'd shared the one menu we could understand, and took it as an honest mistake, and due to the fact that the restaurant was busy.

We ordered and, upon ordering a carafe of wine, I was given a dirty look along with the comment "Oh, and you're old enough?".. a similar look was given after she returned my ID and reluctantly wrote it down. When the wine arrived, with a different (much more polite) waitress, who didn't speak English, it was the wrong one, and we had to rely on a kind couple on the table next to us to translate this for us. It was replaced and, when seeing our original waitress again, we were given a smirk and an 'apology'.

The same waitress also performed the same menu trick on us when we ordered desserts.

The food and portions were pleasant, but not exceptional, but the whole experience was rather spoiled by our rude waitress!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here on a busy Saturday night. The set menu was great value for money as well as being delicious. The restaurant was full, so the atmosphere was good and despite some sloppy service we really enjoyed the meal and the evening.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in Enkhuizen for a long weekend and visited the Markerwaard on the first night - selecting the set menu we were all impressed with the quality and creativeness of the food and the great service (typical of the Dutch) - would highly recommend

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Restaurant Markerwaard also viewed

Enkhuizen, North Holland Province
Enkhuizen, North Holland Province
 
Enkhuizen, North Holland Province
Enkhuizen, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Restaurant Markerwaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Restaurant Markerwaard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.