We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great food, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koepoort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Koepoort to your Saves list
Hotel De Koepoort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westerstraat 294, 1601 AS Enkhuizen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enkhuizen
Mammoth Lakes, California
2 reviews
“Great hotel, great food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Enkhuizen to see the Zeider Zee Museum and had the good fortune to stay at the Hotel De Koepoort for two nights. We arrived early as our train from Schiphol was an early one. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us with refreshments while our room was prepared.We were not disappointed by the room, very modern and comfy with everything we needed.There was a slight issue of road noise as it is very quiet where we live but no problem.It is an extra couple of blocks to the city center from this location but the scenery is so spectacular that it won't even concern you.The restaurant in the hotel had a magnificent selection from the menu and the wine menu was excellent as well. Combine this with a very knowledgeable food and beverage manager and an incredible chef and you have a winning combination. My wife has various food allergies and the chef and staff were more than happy to accommodate her.The next night we let the food and beverage manager surprise us with menu selection as we left everything in his capable hands. We were not disappointed!!The pairings of food with wine were excellent. I would say that it is the best restaurant experience I have had in a long time.Morning continental breakfast was quite satisfying as well with an excellent selection of breads,pastries, cereal, fruits and warm dishes.The staff was truly amazing and we can't wait to go out of our way to stay at this incredible hotel again.Be sure to ask the food and beverage manager to perform some of his illusions for you, he is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A good modern clean hotel. It is situated by the west gate to the old city in a quiet residential area. That does mean it is a bit of a drag to the restaurants station etc. say 15mins.

The rooms are small and not air conditioned which is uncomfortable. Mine was provided with a freestanding fan and opening windows. Fortunately it is quiet at night.

Menu is excellent and recommended.

So overall good, but realistically location and rooms not perfect for a 5.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night to visit the Zuiderzee Museum.
The Hotel is located outside the town (oposite to the harbour) and is very quite.
The room were simply decorated but perfectly confortable.

We enjoyed the food and the lovely welcome, even with a quite turbulent little boy!

warmly recomendated

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, helpful staff, limited menu but nice food, comfortable clean rooms. Just a bit hit and miss with the quality of the rooms. You need to remember to request air conditioning! Ordered double room but was given a twin ( 2 single beds), so asked if there was a double room available, which there was, but unfortunately someone had lost the remote to the air conditioning so it was suggested I stand on the chair to manually adjust the 8 foot high air conditioning unit! They eventually found a remote control but now I've just noticed that the large velux window in the room has no blind or curtain covering it! Fine in the winter but not in the middle of summer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in June 213, Room was very clean and appeared to be recently refurbished and staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel within town but has good access to national road network.
On negative side hotel is approx 20 minute walk from town centre and some distance away from railway station. If hotel was closer to town centre then review would have been excellent.
Would happily stay at this hotel again!

Note: Parking restrictions for non residents in force within Enkhuizen - Hotel has limited parking avail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has been renovated and has fantastic accommodations as well as an excellent service overall. Close to the Koepoort at the west end of the old fortification, right in front of the gate, it is reachable by walking from the train station through the beautiful streets of Enkhuizen, and offers you a very quite place to rest and a very good wine cellar.

Room Tip: Our room was in the SW corner, facing the old Koepoort. EXCELLENT
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koepoort

Address: Westerstraat 294, 1601 AS Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Enkhuizen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enkhuizen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Koepoort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘De Koepoort’, the town-gate, the historical entry of Enkhuizen and the entrance to a unique stay at a beautiful location, we look forward to welcome you in our complete renewed hotel!Hotel De Koepoort has 25 rooms, all completely renovated and modern furnished, a restaurant with special local dishes on its menu and a cozy bar with pool table. The hotel also offers facilities to host a meeting, reception or special celebrations, we are available to assist you in organizing your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Koepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koepoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.