We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate of bad taste ?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Den Helder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Den Helder to your Saves list
Hotel Den Helder
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
lunde i telemark
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The ultimate of bad taste ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the outside it looks OK and the recepetion area is quite normal. THe rooms are 1970s but adequate. However getting to your room, you need to og through what is a mixture of Las Vegas and " I dont know what ".

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was a bad idea . The fish was frozen so we ordered cheese fondue, which evidently was not composed by a Swiss !!!!!

Our recommendation would be to have dinner somdewhere else !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
4
33
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is nicely located just a bit out of Den Helder in a green forest rich area. The interior of the rooms is REALLY old fashioned and really could use some modernization. The state is overall decent, though does show its wearoff from over time. The rooms are clean, but do smell a little bit. There's quite some noise to be heard from neighbours going to the toilet etc. Also from the big square in front of the rooms there's a lot of noise coming into the room. During the night they were moving tables or something on this central square which is used for parties. It made a hell of a lot of noise in the room. I really don't want to be in such a room when there is actually a party going on there. That must be horrendous. Also throughout the hotel there are a lot of places where it smells bad. Staff is friendly and the restaurant serves good food, although the serving of the food and drinks was a little bit slow. The internet connection was terribly bad. Lots of packet loss and ping times easily going up to 2 seconds. Wouldn't recommend going here, but it seems like of only the few hotels that exist in Den Helder, this is the only one that has vacancy on short notice (figures I guess), so sometimes you simply don't have a choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was reasonably close to the venue we were playing at during our Holland tour...and nicer than the ones that were closer in town! This hotel has a concealed a bowling alley which you walk through to get to your rooms. The rooms are on the edge of a glass covered area complete with a double decker bus that has been turned into a bar! I saw pool tables, miniature golf, long tables and chairs and a huge stage with P.A. which all seemed designed for a party atmosphere. Children would have a blast running around here, and it didn't seem they could get into much trouble. Fresh flowers were on all the balconies outside the rooms. The hotel seems to be updating the party areas, but not the rooms. The tiles on the stairs leading to the rooms were cracked/broken, the lock on my door was dodgy and would stick making it difficult to open. The door needed painting and tile in shower was cracked with a tired shower curtain. My room was quiet, but to be fair I was only it from about 2am. Service was slow with the girl at the front desk not understanding English until a manger came to help. It took about 20 minutes to check in, but they did bring us a cup of coffee while we were waiting. They had stacks of paper reservations as well as using a computer, I'm not sure how they keep things together that way but it could explain the slowness! Breakfast was included in the price so it was good value for the money. All I really wanted was a clean and comfortable bed, and you will certainly get that here. They also had wi-fi in the rooms and in the lobby...something that is very important to me as we go from city to city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was interesting experience to stay in such hotel.
As a whole – I was satisfied with it.
About details.
Hotel has an interesting architecture – a huge atrium and rooms along walls in 3 floors. Atrium has a bar built in 2-floor red English bus. Also there are long tables, armchairs and trees – looks like atrium is a place for good parties.
A can say nothing about bowling – I am not a fan of this. But there are several groups of people, who playing.
What I liked:
- People on reception are adequate. We got a room on the top floor, and when we entered it, we felt strong smells of cigarette smoke. I went to reception and asked for another room. At once we got another room and it was OK.
- Breakfast room is good-decorated; food was enough and good served.
- Atrium is decorated by trees and flowers.
- Room had a balcony with view to green nature.
- Hotel located not far from old fortress – I think it would be good to walk there, but we had no time.
What I disliked
- Door locks was in bad condition – as I mentioned, first room was with smells, but in addition, and door lock was unsteady. In second room lock was more stable, but it was rusty.
- There is no lift, so you should climb with your luggage on staircase.
- Also distance from reception to rooms area is long, and staircase location is not optimal – you should go with your luggage through bowling hall, and in huge atrium choose one of 2 staircases, which located in different corners. There is no any sign, which room numbers are closer to which staircase.
So this is the hotel for young strong sportsman :)

Room Tip: First when entering your room pay attantion on room door lock and on balcony door lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I unfortunately booked this hotel in error for a recent business trip in Jan 2103. It is not really equipped to deal with business travellers as it is basically a party hotel. I booked 2 suites which were off the indoor/outdoor party room. My room was fine if a Little unusual in style and too dark to work in.. It was also cold, however my colleagues room was absolutely freezing. The style of her room was extremely unusual in that you entered the room through the bathroom.
Staff were helpful and did their best providing us with extra quilts and trying to turn up the heat.

Best to visit in summer on holidays!! You could join the party!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDenHelder, Front Office Manager at Hotel Den Helder, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Sorry, about the heating. We try to open this in the morning before the guests go into the room. Hopefully we can receive you in the future again.
Team Hotel Den Helder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Strange to see a london bus inside a hotel? Well food is good and the beer is too!! They have a bowling alley and a crazy golf course. Rooms a bit tired but all in all quite a nice place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemonade74
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was a bit of a surprise package - it concealed a bowling alley and a large glass covered courtyard area with a double decker bus parked inside! All a little eccentric but fun - especially for children. The rooms were acceptable although more functional than comfortable and the bathrooms are a little dated. Our room was a bit noisy as there was building work going on on the ground floor but it stopped at a reasonable time in the evening. Service was rather erratic with the front desk using paper systems as well as computers which slowed things down quite a lot but the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Den Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Den Helder

Address: Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Den Helder 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Den Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Den Helder The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Den Helder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.