We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George U” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Syosset, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“George U”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A wonderful experience! A quaint house in an excellent location. Lesley, the hostess, goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. She serves an excellent breakfast of home made croissants, muffins and beverages. The house is in walking distance of all the major attractions.
When I return to Amsterdam, I would hope that a room at the inn is available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ulm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one week at Aemstelhuys in May 2014 and we loved it. We had a delightful, beautiful und very quiet room under the roof, where we felt immediately at home. The room and the living room with the breakfast table with excellent breakfast and lovely decoration were very charming. Leslie was a really nice and helpful hostess, and her cat Puddy is so sweet. The house is located in a quiet street with restaurants an cafes nearby. You can walk easily all the distances to the Amsterdam sights and museums, Grachten and shopping areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was our first experience in a b&b and it couldn´t be better. Excellent location, close to all the shops and restaurantes, in a lovely quiet Street. Lesley is a great hostess, very helpful. It was a pleasure listening to her stories at breakfast, we didn´t want to leave, and her breakfasts were the best. The house is beautiful decorated and cozzy, the rooms very comfortable and clean. Every detail in the house is perfect. I would highly recommend it and for sure will come back in our next visit to Amterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were delighted to stay in an authentic Dutch house, filled with charm and a wonderful hostess. Lesley shared many fabulous stories as she served up a delicious breakfast every morning. Her personal décor and touches were everywhere. Lesley even went out of her way to pack up a breakfast to go on one day when we had a particularly early start. The room on the second floor was comfortable and very clean, although the narrow stairs to get there were tricky to navigate and the bathroom was small. The location was ideal because it was on a quiet, side street, not far from the hustle of everyday Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor is the largest and most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasure to stay with Lesley! Her home is lovely, everything at breakfast was homemade and delicious! Lesley provided me with restaurant suggestions which were so good I ate at the same place twice and enjoyed it! Would definitely book another stay here in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved the bed & breakfast, quiet street next to the Amstel, lots of restaurants nearby (our favorite was the thai) and great breakfast provided by the host. She is very helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had 2 of them, one of in the basement for my Mum (you have all the privacy here but a little dark during the day - but it is great if you are away exploring the city) and the other 2 in the old style dutch house. We will come back if we have the chance.. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

hidden gem.. Lesley is all you could wish for in a hostess, she has many tales to tell that will keep you intregued for hours. she is most helpful and knowledgable. the location is perfect ( far enough from the hustle and bustle but near enough to everything) the rooms were just as you see in the pictures decorated with individual style with attention to detail giving you a warm homely feel - no glossy advert gimicks!! it is every bit as clean, inviting and as stylish as you could imagine. the rooms are fully equipt with everything you could need.
a treat to stay here, many many thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.