We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved the bed & breakfast, quiet street next to the Amstel, lots of restaurants nearby (our favorite was the thai) and great breakfast provided by the host. She is very helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had 2 of them, one of in the basement for my Mum (you have all the privacy here but a little dark during the day - but it is great if you are away exploring the city) and the other 2 in the old style dutch house. We will come back if we have the chance.. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

hidden gem.. Lesley is all you could wish for in a hostess, she has many tales to tell that will keep you intregued for hours. she is most helpful and knowledgable. the location is perfect ( far enough from the hustle and bustle but near enough to everything) the rooms were just as you see in the pictures decorated with individual style with attention to detail giving you a warm homely feel - no glossy advert gimicks!! it is every bit as clean, inviting and as stylish as you could imagine. the rooms are fully equipt with everything you could need.
a treat to stay here, many many thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a very comfortable bed and breakfast. Lesley is the perfect hostess helping you in every way. It is central and close to some very delicious restaurants, Harmsen being one of them. We had the top bedroom, which I agree with someone else, has some very narrow stairs so small light suitcases, but hey you are in a beautiful Dutch house. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast if you want a peaceful, central, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aemstelhuys, Eigenaar at Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your time in my house so thank you for your very kind comments.
I hope to be able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time in Lesley's house, she made everything as easy as possible. The house is a typical 17th century house situated right in the town center. It couldn't be better !
We really enjoyed the breakfast which was made from home baked patisseries, and the bedroom it the basement is very quite and nicely decorated.

Thanks Lesley

Room Tip: Choose the one in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aemstelhuys, Eigenaar at Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your break in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My ancient father and I stayed at the Aemstelhuys B&B in February 2014 for three nights and were delighted with it. Lesley made everything as easy as possible and was generous in every way from the home-baked breakfast to the top tips and the loan of umbrellas (thankfully not needed) and guide books. She pointed us in the right direction time and time again, thereby saving us time and money and giving us a much more local experience.
The house is an adorable little 17th century town house with typically steep, narrow steps, situated between the Amstel river and Prinzengracht, within easy walking distance of everywhere.
I particularly liked the local tapas bar, La Pata Negra, wildly busy and enormous fun.

Room Tip: We were in the slightly damp but very charming basement room - next time, I would go for the top roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Best stay in central Amsterdam, surrounded by lots of bars and restaurants, but still in a quiet street. Lesley is a very friendly host, with lots of stories about Amsterdam and the world to tell. The rooms are nicely decorated, with a lot of taste and souvenirs from many travels and stays abroad. Breakfast is abolutely unique, I've never had self made (not only self baked, but made!) croissants in my life! Thank you Lesley!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Aemstelhuys is a wonderfully cosy B&B in a protected Amsterdam townhouse with a warm and attentive host.
Upon arrival Lesley ushered us in and offered us tea and coffee before we headed out to explore. She made us feel instantly at home, sharing tales and tips galore.
Our room on the top floor was bright, stylishly decorated with tea & coffee facilities, a basket of Amsterdam travel guides, a little table and armchairs, twin beds, and an extra bed as requested. For the three of us it wasn't cramped at all, but it should be noted that the stairs up are narrow (the norm in these beautiful old houses), so do avoid heavy/bulky luggage.
Breakfast is a sumptuous affair, with freshly made croissants, lots of fruit, a wide selection of bread, cheeses, meats, jams, Greek yoghurt and cereals. As there are only two rooms in the B&B it really is a homey experience to sit down to breakfast with fellow guests at the dining table.
Lastly the location can't be beat, being in a hip area of Amsterdam which isn't noisy but has hip cafes, restaus, bars and stores. A tram from the central station brought us only a few minutes walk away.
Thanks again Lesley for our best stay to date in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.