We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, friendly, excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central, friendly, excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Best stay in central Amsterdam, surrounded by lots of bars and restaurants, but still in a quiet street. Lesley is a very friendly host, with lots of stories about Amsterdam and the world to tell. The rooms are nicely decorated, with a lot of taste and souvenirs from many travels and stays abroad. Breakfast is abolutely unique, I've never had self made (not only self baked, but made!) croissants in my life! Thank you Lesley!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Aemstelhuys is a wonderfully cosy B&B in a protected Amsterdam townhouse with a warm and attentive host.
Upon arrival Lesley ushered us in and offered us tea and coffee before we headed out to explore. She made us feel instantly at home, sharing tales and tips galore.
Our room on the top floor was bright, stylishly decorated with tea & coffee facilities, a basket of Amsterdam travel guides, a little table and armchairs, twin beds, and an extra bed as requested. For the three of us it wasn't cramped at all, but it should be noted that the stairs up are narrow (the norm in these beautiful old houses), so do avoid heavy/bulky luggage.
Breakfast is a sumptuous affair, with freshly made croissants, lots of fruit, a wide selection of bread, cheeses, meats, jams, Greek yoghurt and cereals. As there are only two rooms in the B&B it really is a homey experience to sit down to breakfast with fellow guests at the dining table.
Lastly the location can't be beat, being in a hip area of Amsterdam which isn't noisy but has hip cafes, restaus, bars and stores. A tram from the central station brought us only a few minutes walk away.
Thanks again Lesley for our best stay to date in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Lesley's beautiful house. The house is ideally situated for trams or walking to major attractions. Breakfast is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble to Lesley. She is a proverbial fountain of knowledge and made our stay very enjoyable. We would have no hesitation in returning to Aemstelhuys .highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Aemstelhuys is a beautiful traditional home a stone's throw from every major attraction,yet secluded and peaceful.Lesley is very welcoming and highly entertaining...I have never spent an hour and a half chatting with my host over breakfast (which by the way was delicious) before! The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.We had the most fabulous time,and Lesley helped us to plan our days with an insider's perspective on the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Aemstelhuys B&B is a beautiful historical building in a quiet street, yet only a short walk from bars, restaurants, Prinsengracht and other Amsterdam attractions. Lesley made us all feel very welcome and gave us lots of useful information all of which made my 50th birthday weekend even more enjoyable. The freshly made breakfast was typically Dutch and set us up for a day of sightseeing and shopping around Amsterdam. I would recommend this B&B to friends and family and hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Request the 'basement' room if you want to have your own front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lesley is very welcoming and has a wealth of knowledge about Amsterdam. We were made to feel very welcome in her much loved home. Rooms are a good standard, we stayed in the basement double room with it's own front door which adds to your experience. It was great to stay in a historical building on a cool Amsterdam street. Make sure you purchase a map from Lesley it is the best you can get and is easy to navigate with.

Location is great, easy walking distance to all main attractions and also easy walk to trams if you prefer to do it that way. It is very quiet at night and is close to the best bars and restaurants in town.

We would return without a doubt and would recommend this as the best base to explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If we returned, we would choose a higher floored room as they are lighter and the bathrooms are larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a great time at Lesley's place. The room was decorated with taste and very clean. The location is perfect: it is in the center but still very calm in the evening. And the breakfast was awsome! Very tasty with lot of home-made products. Aemstelhuys B&B is definitly an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.