We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and a Lovely Hostess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and a Lovely Hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the Aemstelhuys Bed and Breakfast after traveling all night from Canada. We stayed for 3 nights during a very busy time in Amsterdam as it was the last Queens Day and the Coronation. We booked about 6 weeks in advance and Lesley was easy to get in contact with via email and even once by phone. On arrival, Lesley allowed us to drop our bags off prior to check in which was great as the backpacks get heavy. It is located on a very quiet street but it is still in the heart of Amsterdam. There is a Tram stop at the end of the road which makes catching the tram very convenient. However, we mostly walked to many of Amsterdam's token tourist sights. There are no hills in Amsterdam so everything seems easy to walk too!

The room we stayed in was a bright, warm room on the top floor. It is up a narrow, charming staircase but I am glad we were on the top floor as it made for a very quiet nights sleep as we went to bed early the first night to sleep off some jet-lag. There was no street noise at all, even though there was partying going on all night prior to Queen's Day at the end of the road - we did not hear any of it. There is a private bathroom and small shower connected to the room. There is a quaint little seating area and tea and coffee making services in the room. The bed was comfortable and was two singles pushed together but there was plenty of room for my husband and I. There is a hair dryer in the room, but remember to bring your own shampoo and conditioner, I forgot but Lesley let me use some of her shampoo.

Breakfast was very tasty, and Lesley even accommodated some of my diet restrictions. She even picked me up some extra rice crackers to take to Paris! It was greatly appreciated. There was a selection of different cheeses, meats, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, homemade lemon curd (so good) and homemade bread. On the last day, there was even fresh baked croissants which were very, very tasty! I think she bakes these daily for guests however my diet restrictions limit the amount of certain grain products. But they were worth it!

Only minor issue was on Queen's Day when we got back from being out all day there was the smell of cigarette smoke in the house. It was noticeable upstairs as well but not too bad. We are both non-smokers so we are very aware of cigarette smoke. This was the only time it happened and I would assume it is not regular occurrence.

Lesley is a lovely hostess and was fascinating to talk to. She is very good at entertaining guests and truly strives to maintain a clean, well run B&B. She is helpful and knowledgeable about Amsterdam but also other regions of Europe as she is well travelled. She can help arrange transportation to sights if needed and prior to arrival she sends a helpful information sheet. She speaks English fluently as well as a few other languages!

I would recommend staying here and if I get the opportunity to return I would stay again. The price was reasonable, especially considering how busy Amsterdam was. Thank you again Lesley for helping make our first time in Amsterdam a great one!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy place, very helpful, nice and interesting host, fantastic location - short walk to the very centre, tidy and pleasant rooms, free wifi, tasty breakfast with bread straight from the oven. We were really happy with the place - two adults and a seven year old girl. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent two nights at Lesley's beautiful house. The location is excellent. There is the best view of the Canal and walking distance to most of the points of interest. The breakfast is fabulous, nice presentation and yummy taste. Lesley is very friendly and knowledgeable, her recommendation of walking routes are so well that you don't have to get on any form of transportation and can see the central Amsterdam in a day or two (that's the only time we got). The climbing of the staircases may be a challenge to some people, but the top floor room is very comfortable and nice. The room in the basement is only a few steps away from ground. My friends found it a bit cool and not enough light, they recommend that if the basement room would be printed in more white, it would be much brighter. Overall, we have a lovely time in Lesley's place, we highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last week we visited Amsterdam for the weekend, we wre a party of six friends, all of us over sixty, the plan was to see some beautiful pictures and to enjoy a friendly city of Amsterdam. I got the tip for B and B from tripadvisor and I think, everything was perfect. The Aemstelhuys BandB is located in a walking distance to the Hermitage, just cross the river, there are several trams in next streets, the location is in a center, but it is very quiet, the owner is very friendly and helpful, making excellent breakfast( musli, yougurt, jams,ham,cheese, tomatoes, and fresh home made croissants, brioche and much more). The house is very tastefully furnished, the rooms are spacious and very clean, recently repainted. I can recommend this accommodation to anyone for a short stay, who is able to climb the old Amsterdam house staircase. Otherwise ask for a room in the basement, which is also very pretty and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have visited Amsterdam several times before but we enjoyed this visit the most. We are sure that this was due to staying in such a lovely house. It felt like staying with a warm and stylish friend (Lesley has very good taste!) instead of being just another tourist. Coming down for breakfast was a treat. We also very much liked the area - it is quiet but close to a good shopping street, pretty canals and interesting museums. We had a wonderful dinner a few minutes walk away at 'In de Keuken ' (moderate/expensive) but there seemed to be several nice places nearby. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suite is a large bright room with a good size bathroom. It is reasonably quiet (no traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a lovely stay in Lesley March`s beautiful old, townhouse. L.M is a wonderful host - charming and exceptionally interesting Her breakfasts are outstanding - lots of different Dutch cheese, hams, newly baked bread, croissants, pancakes, yoghurt.... The rooms are very nice, clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. This lovely 300 year old townhouse is situated in a a very nice residential area of Amsterdam, just off the river Amstel, Prinsengracht around the corner, walking distance to all the interesting sights, tram 3 minutes away! The very quiet street where A. is situated has at least 2 really good restaurants, many more around the corner. We are already planning to go back and would stay at no other place!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Amsterdam.
Besides the fact that Amsterdam is a very easy city to visit I also have to say thank you to Mrs L. Marsh at Aemstelhuys B&B.
A very lovely and interesting woman who has been living and working in India for 10 years and before that in the hotel business everywhere it seems.
Her B&B is a haven of tranquility set in a small street in the center of Amsterdam.
Nice clean rooms, extended breakfast ,perfect service and a variety of restaurants just around the corner.

I really like to stay in a good B&B and this one belongs to the Top 3 in Amsterdam I think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.