We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zorba De Griek

Zorba De Griek
Leidsekruisstraat 16- 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 6224697
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,745 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten much better gyros. The service was friendly and the prices wasn't high. Its in a good location close to Amsterdam main attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    11
    18
    10
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Reading the previous reviews of this restaurant I can't really understand. My girlfriend and I found the food to be lovely. Convinced to go in off the street from the owner who was both friendly and quite charismatic. The sea bass was beautifully cooked and service was quick. Only quibble was that I ordered swordfish and it took nearly ten minutes for them to realize they didn't have any. Other than that the food was lovely and would rate it to friends and family. Really can't understand any of the previous reviews

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor quality, overpriced tourist trap. Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Went in to this place as it was raining heavily and didn't want to go too far. The waiter/owner seemed friendly enough and we ordered some starters and some lamb souvlaki thinking we'd be in for a real feast. Starters were bland and tasteless, pretty much the same plain boiled rice and mince stuffed into vine leaves and a soggy pepper. As for the main course, we were left waiting for a really long time before being handed a barren looking plate with a little pile of plain boiled rice on one side, a small handful of French fries on the other side, with a skewer of about four small pieces of lamb with a few bits of red pepper in the middle. After the quite disappointing starters this didn't really impress much and really felt like such minimal effort had been put into the food. No salad, no sauce, and barely anything on the plate. Overall the cost for the two of us was just over fifty Euros, much much too much for this very disappointing tourist trap. Don't waste your money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre Greek Food and Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Tried this place on a Sat evening when a rainshower chased us under their awning. House wine was not very good. Calamari was large rings of very tough squid. I ordered the gyros and was surprised that no pita is served with them. Just overcooked meat of some type (don't think it was lamb) that seemed to come from the bottom of the cutting board in the kitchen. Ok quantity and the chips (fries) were at least good. My spouse ordered fish souvlaki. The waiter messed up the order and brought a skewer of meat. She said that was not what she ordered. Waiter never apologized, but after 20 minutes, brought the correct dish. She said it was relatively tasty. The servers did not seem to care much about service. I would not go back to this place. Dinner for two was about 48 euro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent dining in touristic area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I opted for one of the "menus" that was on the list, with a mixture of samples of different plates such as gyros (roasted meat with tzatziki), moussaka (the eggplant casserole), souvlaki (mixed meat), etc. With the soup of the day (tomato in this case), which was creamy and tasty.
The food was quite good, the quantity more than enough to satisfy an hungry person.
The atmosphere was quite relaxing, the staff actually spoke greek and they were never rude.

Even the price was quite ok, considering the amount of food, the netherlands standards and the fact that is right behind Leidseplein, which is in the center of Amsterdam: around 25 euros.

Not the best restaurant I tried, but I surely happened to dine in many worse places. I don't know if I will go back again, but if I happen to go around that area, I might step in again. I guess one should be aware that it might turn out to be a tourist trap for some people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorba De Griek also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zorba De Griek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorba De Griek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.