We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing staff ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #136 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most amazing staff ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed at Hotel V for our first trip to Amsterdam with the hubby and we both had an amazing time. We can't wait for a future trip and future stay! Overall, it's a very hip and trendy hotel and the staff are hip and trendy as well.

First of all, their staff is the best ever! They greeted us every morning before breakfast (some by name), helped us plan our daily activities, made restaurant recommendations and dinner reservations, and would chat with us over the free hot drinks (hot chocolate, tea, latte, etc.) in the lobby before the end of the day. They know the city well and are truly passionate about helping visitors enjoy Amsterdam like the locals.

The breakfast spread was great - wide range of choices and very delicious. We looked forward to breakfast!

Coming to Amsterdam/Europe, we expected rooms to be small, which is why we upgraded to the XL room, which offered us a balcony and street view...The XL room had a very large comfy bed and great trendy decor, though the room was still small for the highest upgrade. The bathroom space was really small too - and we thought that for the price and size, Hotel V should at least offer more room amenities to compensate for the price (they offer shampoo, soap, and body wash only)...just a little suggestion.

Hotel V is right across a tram stop (which you can hear throughout the day from your room, but it's no big deal and not a bothersome) and is located near some great attractions (like the museums, great restaurants, the Heineken Experience). Amsterdam is relatively small and we didn't even use the trams...we walked all over AND conveniently rented the bikes that the hotel offered.

They offer free wifi as well as have two computers in the lobby. When hotels do this for free, that's always a plus. Also, they have multiple wifi signals so you'll always have a connection.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend staying at Hotel V. It's a great experience and we would definitely go back and stay at this Hotel on future trips.

THANK YOU HOTEL V!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    276
    119
    57
    22
See reviews for
44
349
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Recently stayed at Hotel V and had a great time. The Hotel is located on the tram line and took minutes to get to/from the office. The staff was great and were able to point me in the right direction whenever needed. Great stay - will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

First, when staying in Amsterdam, nothing is big; not hotel rooms or showers or parking. Having said that, the hotel was great! It is a very conservative hotel from the front, but when you walk in you are greeted by a very warm and comfortable lobby complete with a sunken lounge area with fireplace. The front desk staff is well informed and courteous, and took very good care of us. The rooms are small by American standards but are clean. Make sure you book your room with one of the packages, such as the museum package like we did. You get express entrance into two of the big venues, avoiding the hour plus wait in line, and at a significantly reduced price. The beds, I can’t say enough; these were the best hotel beds I have ever stayed in, EXTREMELY comfortable! One challenge we had in the room was hot water; there is plenty of pressure, but the water wasn’t as hot as some people like it. The highlight of the hotel was the bar, more specifically Julian, the bar tender/manager/super hero/know everything you need to enjoy your stay. Julian was nothing short of spectacular! He was able and more than willing to help us with every question we had, and he ran an extremely efficient and friendly staff of service personnel and he made the stay so much more enjoyable. Kudos to the hotel management for an outstanding hotel and the selection of a great staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

This i a very modern and trendy hotel, in a good location (but not extremely central), very convenient for public transport and with helpful and relaxed staff. The breakfast is quite good and plentiful, there is free tea, coffee and hot chocolate for guests all day, and the style of the hotel is undeniable. There was even a music event on Sunday evening during my stay, with some performers, a band, poetry reading, and a large, young and vibrant crowd.

Nevertheless, the quality of the rooms and the minimal service does not justify the prices of this hotel. I would have given a much more favourable review, especially considering all the above pros, if this was a budget hotel. Unfortunately, with these prices, what you get is budget services, for the price of a 4 star hotel. The rooms are extremely small, even if a larger room is requested. The normal/smaller rooms are tiny! There is hardly room to stand, and practically no room to open your suitcases. The layout of the rooms is also extremely unorthodox making the space feel even more confined. The bathrooms are claustrophobic and impractical. I personally am not bothered by loud noises, but if you wake up easily you can forget enjoying a good nights sleep: the tram stop right in front of the hotel means that you can hear the tram bells every 5-10 minutes throughout the night. And I am probably nitpicking now, but I had to raise an eyebrow with the floorplan around the hotel, especially the lobby area where there are several different floor levels, often with hidden steps, or with uneven, varied-sized stairs. I wonder how safe this layout can be, especially for older or handicapped guests.

In a nutshell, if you can get this hotel for (much) less than 100 euros, or if the most important quality in a hotel for you is style and you don't care about anything else, go for it. Otherwise, there are much better hotels, often for less money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We came for a three-night visit and had a lovely time with friends in the communal areas. There is a very welcoming atmosphere, free tea, coffee and hot chocolate throughout your visit, and friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is nice and plentiful - continental buffet with plenty of meat and cheese and lovely bread and pastries. The only drawback is the size of the rooms. We stayed in a large double, which barely had enough floor space to walk around the bed. The decor is funky, but the lighting is a bit too cool for comfort. The bathroom has a lovely open shower, which leaks everywhere. I never expected to be standing in a hotel bathroom in my wellington boots mopping the floor! A shower door, more lighting and a mirror would have added to our comfort but we enjoyed the location and ambiance and it was a great place to visit with friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Staff were great, hotel looked good and the breakfast was excellent BUT the room was really tiny and at £100 a night very poor value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We thought the hotel itself was well presented, the staff very friendly and the bar area comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was average. The hotel is in a great location just outside the main city areas and you can get the tram straight from Centraal Station on the 4 or 25 route which only takes 10 mins at most so very handy for exploring. What we were shocked by was the size of our room. Granted we booked a small double but it was tiny. One friend commented it was like a cabin in a small boat. The bed took up the whole room and the only storage was a small fabric wardrobe which was like an Ikea laundry unit. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room but the bar offers free tea and coffee. There is no door on the shower so water sprays out of the shower onto the bathroom floor and you have to put towels down to stop flooding the tiny bathroom. We paid 109 euros for the night and did not think the room was worth it. The bigger rooms did look more comfortable but even our friends who booked a large double were shocked by the size of the rooms. My advice to you would be to find out from the hotel which are their most spacious rooms before booking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.