We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #131 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chelmsford, Essex, England.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Sorry for my delayed review but we stayed at the Hotel V Frederiksplein Amsterdam for two nights from Tuesday 15th April 2014. Our main plan was to visit the Keukenhof Gardens and to see some of the highlights of the city. Hope this review is helpful for those planning a visit next Spring or even one later this coming Autumn.
The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk to the start of the canal ring and in a quiet neighbourhood. There is a supermarket a short walk across the small park area and a pub / bar just along here too. The supermarket sells reasonable priced beers and wine.
The hotel is situated on two tram lines; the number 4 line to the side of the hotel comes up directly from Central Station. The other line, the numbers 7 & 10 I think, runs along the front of the hotel and goes to the Museum District. You can also change trams there by walking through the Rijksmuseum Plaza and joining another line for Dam Square.
We travelled the short journey by train from Amsterdam Schiphol and took the number 4 tram up to the hotel. You just get off at stop ‘Frederiksplein’ and the hotel is over to your left. It is all very easy.
Just remember to check in and out of the tram machine each time with your ticket.
We did the same journey for our day trip to Keukenhof Gardens as the flower bus runs from the airport to the gardens.
We booked a standard double room at EUR 136.37 including breakfast and you also get free all day tea and coffee served by staff at the bar area. The breakfast was very nice.
The room was rather small but acceptable for a couple of nights, but I think another time we would pay extra and book a large double.
Amsterdam itself was fabulous the people are so nice and friendly. Just be careful you don’t get run down by a cycle, they are everywhere on their cycle paths 1,000s of them going to and fro from morning ‘til night!
We booked a 5 ticket HollandPass online which gave us 2 gold & 3 silver tickets and a 24 hour tram pass. They also include a one-way train ticket from Schiphol into Central Station. You can collect your tickets from the GWK Travelex office at Schiphol Plaza.
Just remember that only the ‘special’ gold ticket gives entrance to the Rijksmuseum but the other gold one not...You can use the ‘special’ ticket for other attractions such as Van Gough Museum or Keukenhof, but if you want to visit the Rijksmuseum then you must save this ticket for this purpose only and use the other regular gold one for one of the other places.
At this price level I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel V Frederiksplein and would certainly stay again but perhaps in a larger room next time.
Have a great time...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    299
    128
    59
    24
See reviews for
44
373
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menheniot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked this hotel because of its location but it's so much more.
The room we had was in the basement but we found it more than adequate, comfortable and clean with a great shower.
Breakfast was amazing! The selection of food was awesome.
The overall feeling is a very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel.
Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The staff here were very helpful - they were always willing to make free tea/coffee at the bar during the day and evening. The wifi worked very well, including in our basement room. We knew our room would be small and dark when we booked, but for the price, we couldn't find anywhere better considering the convenient location of this hotel. The bathroom was small but very modern and the room was just what we needed for a couple of nights. We were also able to store our luggage safely near to reception. It cost less than 7 euros to get to the hotel from the airport too. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

2nd time at this hotel, nice room, nice and friendly staff, and excellent breakfast!!! Close enough to walk to Dam square and other areas about 15 mins lovely walk. We only stayed 2 nights but would def stay here again for longer if we could.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located. Frederiksplein tram station is right across and is directly connected by Tram 4 to Amsterdam Centraal. Although, it's not along a canal but within the canal belt. A 15-30 min walk will take you all the places you would want to be. The neighborhood is pretty and quite in the night.

Our room was on the first floor - small but clean. With our two backpacks and some knick knacks ( no closet in room), we had to watch our step.. The stairs to reach it were narrow, you'll have to be careful. Bedding was comfortable. And bathroom modern.

Breakfast spread was good. The complimentary coffee and tea in lounge was a nice plus. Staff was helpful - they stored our luggage when we arrived couple of hours before check-in time and after we checked-out as well.

All together, a welcoming place to stay !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a great style / price ratio. The rooms are tiny, as they tend to be in Amsterdam so for us normal human beings use to a spacious living experience - do not stay here with your partner or a larger group.

But if you are a younger business person coming to Amsterdam for a meeting, conference or just passing by - then the location, the comfortable bed and the atmosphere make it a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel but .....

Having read all of the reviews, particularly those regarding the size of the rooms, we booked an XL room. If our room was extra large I can't believe how small the standard rooms are. It would have been fine for a single Hobbit but was too small for two adults, one of whom is 6'2". The three large windows were covered with black muslin curtains and black blinds, the floor was also black so the dominant colour was black. The bed was pushed up against the window meaning that the person sleeping that side had to clamber over the other to get out of the bed. Our room was in the adjacent building on the ground floor which was great because the stairs up and down were nearly vertical and very narrow.

There were no wardrobes or storage space apart from a small hanging rail which mean we had to live out of our suitcases for the duration of our stay. The only other furniture was one small chair and a narrow console table.

The overhead light didn't work and even though we reported it on our first day it remained unworking for the 4 days we were there.

The en suite shower room was approx 2' deep and 7-8 foot wide meaning that it couldn't accommodate two people at the same time. The temperature of the shower never got above luke warm during our stay although the water from the taps over the basin was hot.

The sheets weren't changed during our stay which was uncomfortable given the temperatures and the smallness of the room.

On the plus side, breakfast was great and we loved the location with easy access to local shops and restaurants and the tram into the centre of Amsterdam. There are also a couple of small parks which are very pleasant places to sit for a while. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful but others were diffident. We would definitely stay in this area again but would also definitely choose another hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a decent sized room then book a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.