We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay with a very helpful staff !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #131 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay with a very helpful staff !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located. Frederiksplein tram station is right across and is directly connected by Tram 4 to Amsterdam Centraal. Although, it's not along a canal but within the canal belt. A 15-30 min walk will take you all the places you would want to be. The neighborhood is pretty and quite in the night.

Our room was on the first floor - small but clean. With our two backpacks and some knick knacks ( no closet in room), we had to watch our step.. The stairs to reach it were narrow, you'll have to be careful. Bedding was comfortable. And bathroom modern.

Breakfast spread was good. The complimentary coffee and tea in lounge was a nice plus. Staff was helpful - they stored our luggage when we arrived couple of hours before check-in time and after we checked-out as well.

All together, a welcoming place to stay !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    340
    138
    64
    26
See reviews for
48
418
57
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a great style / price ratio. The rooms are tiny, as they tend to be in Amsterdam so for us normal human beings use to a spacious living experience - do not stay here with your partner or a larger group.

But if you are a younger business person coming to Amsterdam for a meeting, conference or just passing by - then the location, the comfortable bed and the atmosphere make it a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel but .....

Having read all of the reviews, particularly those regarding the size of the rooms, we booked an XL room. If our room was extra large I can't believe how small the standard rooms are. It would have been fine for a single Hobbit but was too small for two adults, one of whom is 6'2". The three large windows were covered with black muslin curtains and black blinds, the floor was also black so the dominant colour was black. The bed was pushed up against the window meaning that the person sleeping that side had to clamber over the other to get out of the bed. Our room was in the adjacent building on the ground floor which was great because the stairs up and down were nearly vertical and very narrow.

There were no wardrobes or storage space apart from a small hanging rail which mean we had to live out of our suitcases for the duration of our stay. The only other furniture was one small chair and a narrow console table.

The overhead light didn't work and even though we reported it on our first day it remained unworking for the 4 days we were there.

The en suite shower room was approx 2' deep and 7-8 foot wide meaning that it couldn't accommodate two people at the same time. The temperature of the shower never got above luke warm during our stay although the water from the taps over the basin was hot.

The sheets weren't changed during our stay which was uncomfortable given the temperatures and the smallness of the room.

On the plus side, breakfast was great and we loved the location with easy access to local shops and restaurants and the tram into the centre of Amsterdam. There are also a couple of small parks which are very pleasant places to sit for a while. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful but others were diffident. We would definitely stay in this area again but would also definitely choose another hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a decent sized room then book a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein (which I still can't pronounce properly) was the best homebase I could ask for during my shotgun visit to the best damn city I've been to in ages. My new found love of Amsterdam aside, Hotel V's staff were the friendliest people I've met in the hospitality industry in some time. Morning staff, when I was there, Justina and Suf, were excellent at giving me the lay of the land and great tips on where the locals play. And Philip too. Fine job good man. And having only two nights to enjoy watching the sun go down (and rise), it was nice to be met upon returning 'home' in the earlier morning hours by Agnes. In the middle of my dark night, she was radiant sunshine. Thanks to all at Hotel V Frederiksplein. About the location, so close to all the best galleries, canal tours (take one after dark) and some very lovely parks. And walking distance from Leidseplein. If you like smaller music venues, be sure to check out Waterhole and Bourbon both in this 'hood. Bourbon for sure. Also, tram from Central Station drops you right by Hotel V. Grocery store a block away. Be sure to get one of their larger rooms. It's worth the bit extra. For food close by, I recommend Pata Negra, just a bit north on the main drag. Damn, I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Bigger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The size of the rooms was so small, for the price that your paying, it really is insulting. Even on checkin the receptionist said they get a lot of complaints about the size of the rooms. We asked to switch to a bigger room, but it did not make a lot of difference. The issue is that for a couple the rooms are not good. For one person it can be ok. You cant really use the toilet properly as its so small. Its as if the manager wanted to squeeze as much out of the customer for the least amount of space. what a joke. never staying again.

Room Tip: if your a single traveller then the rooms are fine. 2 or more people. forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Location is great, when you are out of the hotel door just take five steps to across the road then you are at the tram station! Breakfast was also ok. We were satisfied from our stay but it is up to the expectations. Our expectation was just a clean, cosy place and good location. Hotel v just met all of them. It is also a budget hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Me and my Husband went to Amsterdam for our 2nd Anniversary and chose this place after looking at the reviews. We were not dissapointed, the staff were extremely friendly and very very helpful, the decor is very modern (a lot of black and grey) which I loved. the room was small but had everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was a wonderful walk in shower. The toiletries provided smelled lovely. The breakfast was a continental buffett style breakfast and was beautifully fresh and tasty. Pastries, cheese, ham, fresh bread, fruit and yoghurt, all was great. any time of day you can grab a free tea or coffee from the bar area which was great. the location is idea just a stones throw away from Frederiksplein (a lovely little park with a water fountain) and from there just a 20 min walk from the center of Amsterdam, and an enjoyable one at that. I really loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it, especially for couples, would like to go back and try one of the new V Lofts!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.