We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #137 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Small but cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Location is great, when you are out of the hotel door just take five steps to across the road then you are at the tram station! Breakfast was also ok. We were satisfied from our stay but it is up to the expectations. Our expectation was just a clean, cosy place and good location. Hotel v just met all of them. It is also a budget hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    285
    122
    57
    23
See reviews for
44
356
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Me and my Husband went to Amsterdam for our 2nd Anniversary and chose this place after looking at the reviews. We were not dissapointed, the staff were extremely friendly and very very helpful, the decor is very modern (a lot of black and grey) which I loved. the room was small but had everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was a wonderful walk in shower. The toiletries provided smelled lovely. The breakfast was a continental buffett style breakfast and was beautifully fresh and tasty. Pastries, cheese, ham, fresh bread, fruit and yoghurt, all was great. any time of day you can grab a free tea or coffee from the bar area which was great. the location is idea just a stones throw away from Frederiksplein (a lovely little park with a water fountain) and from there just a 20 min walk from the center of Amsterdam, and an enjoyable one at that. I really loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it, especially for couples, would like to go back and try one of the new V Lofts!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would not stay here again. Although the hotel really did look cool, clean and chic, the service was average. Because of a screw up with travel plans, we needed to stay four nights instead of three. The hotel was going to be full for the last night and told us we would need to move, but to keep checking with the front desk for cancellations. We did this until finally, on the second to last day, I had had enough and asked to speak to the manager in charge, (yes, I should have done this the first day). She was able to give us the rooms we needed, but by this time it was too late because we had made reservations at another hotel around the corner for the last night and it was not refundable. If the manager had been a true professional, she would have called the other hotel, (Hotel Nottingham) and told them to wave the reservation charge. Anyway, when you travel, you don't want to waster your time dealing with hotel reservations. We did here. Also, although the front desk people were friendly, they were not really able to answer some basic tour questions. Hotel V makes me plan to stick to more professional chain hotels in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, General Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein.

We understand that you didn’t want to take the risk of waiting to see if we had a cancellation before booking a room at another hotel. However, hotels often get last-minute cancellations, so when this happened, we offered the room to you.

We weren’t to know that you had booked a non-refundable (!) room at another hotel, while continuing to ask at our front desk to extend your stay at Hotel V. When you demanded that we pay for the cancelled room at another hotel, we rightly refused.

We don’t feel it is our responsibility to pay for mistakes that guests make at other hotels, but we were more than willing to work with you in regards to your reservation at our hotel.

We wish you all the best.
Kind Regards,
Jan Stuurman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

nice rooms
very nice breakfast
very friendly staff
extremely comfortable beds
located very central
we will for sure, come again
XL rooms are recommended from our side, as they are, for usual Amsterdam hotel room sizes, very spacey.

Room Tip: XL rooms are much bigger then the standard rooms and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Not city center but within easy reach. The area was very nice and quiet. Right next to the #4 tram stop which will take you to Central Station (not a bad walk either). The staff was awesome - very friendly and helpful! The breakfast and the drinks were good. The room was a bit small but that's what I expected. Very clean and modern. All in all it was a great stay. I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are small. I've read this is common in Europe though (this was my first European...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

good location, fantastic and extremely helpful staff, lovely foyer and good free wifi access, but beware the basement rooms. if you can afford it pay for a better room otherwise it is like sleeping in a tiny dungeon. the lighting is also terrible in these dungeon rooms which adds to their displeasure.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a great location. We stayed for four nights and mostly used our room during the night. The only negative was the small room size and lack of soundproof. Overall it contained everything we needed with safetybox, phone, tv, hair dryer, free wifi and toilet equipments. Extra plus for eco friendly products. Cleaning was satisfying and breakfast was very nice. The atmosphere in the lounge down by the lobby was modern and great for enjoying free coffee. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.