We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but beware of basement rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #131 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good hotel but beware of basement rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

good location, fantastic and extremely helpful staff, lovely foyer and good free wifi access, but beware the basement rooms. if you can afford it pay for a better room otherwise it is like sleeping in a tiny dungeon. the lighting is also terrible in these dungeon rooms which adds to their displeasure.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    300
    128
    59
    24
See reviews for
44
373
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a great location. We stayed for four nights and mostly used our room during the night. The only negative was the small room size and lack of soundproof. Overall it contained everything we needed with safetybox, phone, tv, hair dryer, free wifi and toilet equipments. Extra plus for eco friendly products. Cleaning was satisfying and breakfast was very nice. The atmosphere in the lounge down by the lobby was modern and great for enjoying free coffee. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here one Monday after my plane landed at 9:00. They were insistent that I COULD NOT get into a room before 2:00. see below.
Basement room "standard double" so small there was not a chair or place to put bag. Basement is stagnant air and noisy - for a premium rate.
I paid the extra 30 Euro for a late check out 11:00 - I paid for 2:00
Houskeeping began banging on the door at 9:00. She tried to enter at 9:45. The front desk began to call at 10:00 and 11:00.
I found the front desk unhelpful
NEVER stay at this hotel

Room Tip: stay somewhere elso
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Keith! Sorry to hear that you have had a bad stay!

I should point out, for your sake as well as other guests reading this, that the "standard double" is not the room category located in the basement. The category called "small souterrain" is the only room located in level -1. So if you *thought* you booked the standard but actually booked a *small*, I can see how you would be irritated.

And checkin is indeed from 2 pm. This is because checkout is only at 11 am, and the housekeeping staff definitely needs the 3 short hours to clean all 48 rooms and 6 apartments. So I do apologize, but we cannot always offer an early checkin, such as was the case with you. To be assured a room, it is best to book the night before so that a room is held specifically for your early arrival.

At any rate, should you ever change your mind and return to Hotel V Frederiksplein, we would love to have you. If you do come, send me an email and I will do my best to make sure you have a better stay: amanda@hotelv.nl

All the best from Amsterdam,
Amanda
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a nice value for money hotel. Minus for two things: we were here in the middle of the winter for new years eve and it was freezing in the room. Everyday when we left the room someone turned of the heating that we had turned on, and then when we came home in the evening it was stone cold again and we had to start over. The other minus was it was very poor sound isolation, you will hear everything from neighbouring rooms and the corridor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel V is in a quiet location just a 10 min walk from Rembrandt Square. It is in a quieter part of the city and also has a tram stop just outside.
The reception area and rooms are very modern. The furnishings and design are really nice with a big gold bulldog in reception and deer vases.
I stayed in the main building- as the Hotel also has a separate building where some rooms are. The rooms are small but adequate. There was not much room around the bed but when you are in Amsterdam you are there to explore the city, not be in your room so that did not matter.
The bathroom had a powerful shower and was also modern in design. The room has a hairdryer but not coffee and tea facilities. The room did get very hot but there was a large fan in the room which helped.
Breakfast was served from 7 am and is continental consisting of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit etc.
I would really recommend this Hotel for a city break due to it's location and interior! : )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivinghoe beacon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, yes the rooms are on the small side, we upgraded to a larger room. What do you expect in a city ? We had two lovely big windows which looked out over the street ,a comfy bed and a modern bathroom with shower.Rooms were very clean with good quality linen and towels. There is no coffee/tea facilities in the room, but anytime of the day until 12pm the hotel serves free tea/coffee in the very comfortable lounge area. A very nice way to end our day of sightseeing chatting with friends and watching the cyclists and trams go by. Breakfast is served in this area with a lot of choice except if you like a full English breakfast,which we did not want.The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We found most places walkable with a 10min tram to the station outside hotel. Restaurants were close enough to walk with excellent choice of food for any budget. A great bar opposite the hotel where we watched the Brazil / Croatia football match which pleased our husbands. The canal ring is round the corner from the hotel with plenty of bars . We really enjoyed our stay here and would like to return one day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room, although be aware these rooms are still on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I honestly have no idea where other reviewers are used to staying, but this hotel is really just a glorified hostel. I knew the rooms would be small, but wow, for claiming to be a 3-star hotel and charging over 200 Euros per room per night it should have least had a few amenities. I honestly have no idea how they qualified for a 3-star rating. Even cheap hotels like Travelodge have a little coffee pot or electric kettle to make tea or coffee in your room, and I don't think it would ever cost more than 100 per night. A little minibar with some water and peanuts maybe? In my perfect world there would have been a bathtub, but apparently it's a tubless hotel. We also couldn't check in until nearly 30 minutes after checkin time, and even though we'd made our reservations months in advance, we ended up on different floors. We thought the complimentary breakfast might make up for it, but not if you hoped for anything other than some pillsbury croissants, cold cuts, and hard-boiled eggs that were impossible to unshell. Bottom line, this would all be fine if they made it clear that's what you're supposed to expect, but they made it out to be more than it is, and then charged accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.