We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #133 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“smart and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

as far as hotels go in amsterdam unless you want to pay super top whack this i found was a gem.
Free wifi with good reception throughout, i stayed in the basement rooms,i was bit intimidated at first but dont be, yes there a tad on the small side but this is amsterdam, its extremely clean, lobby area is seriously smart ! inside,powerful shower clean towels soap shampoo etc. also had a few english tv channels which is handy to watch when you roll in after, possibly a heavy night. breakfast in the morning isnt bad considered its chucked in. nothing hot, continental i believe they call it, there is tea and coffee fruit eggs couisants etc. would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein! A "gem"! We like that! : )
See you again soon!
Amanda
Guest Relationsstay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    271
    117
    54
    21
See reviews for
39
339
50
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over Easter week. The hotel's location is great - tram 4 takes you towards central station and Dam Square and the other "side " of Amsterdam; trams 7 & 10 are outside going either towards the Zoo or the museums and Vondelpark . The staff are very helpful and recommended a local restaurant on my first night a 5 min walk away. A very good continental breakfast is included in your rate, with fresh breads and pastries from a local bakery. I had booked a standard room - it was a bit on the compact side, Ok for one person, two might have found it very friendly! It was a double bed, with twin mattresses and very, very comfortable; storage space was adequate for a short stay. If I was going back I would book one of the "large" rooms for a bit more space. The downside was the building work next door which started at 6.30/ 7.00am. You do expect some city noise in a city hotel, but when mentioning this to the reception staff they said the builders had been there for some time and had been asked not to start drilling so early. I was offered a room move, but for another night it wasn't really worth it. There are a couple of great neighbourhood bars along the canal and a number of local restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Book the next room range up for added space if staying more than two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein is perfectly okay for a short & reasonable priced stay in Amsterdam, ideally placed for the Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum, a 5 to 10 minute walk away.
The room is on the petite side with one side of the bed up against a wall, meaning having to enter the bed from the bottom & climbing over your partner if you wanted to use the bathroom at night, saying that the room was perfectly adequate as a base to explore Amsterdam.
The breakfast was a continental breakfast with ham, cheeses, breads, salads & breakfast cereal available, quantity was plentiful & of what you would expect from this type of hotel.
Staff were helpful & friendly, always ready with a smile, all spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review!
Amanda
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel V for four nights in April. The best parts were (1) the location (away from the touristy city center but within the canal belt and close to the museums and parks; it is also on two useful tram lines), (2) the staff who were consistently helpful and friendly, and (3) the breakfast included with the room which had a broad range of options (including hot options) and good coffee. But be aware that the 'modernist' style of the rooms make them pretty Spartan (our room had no drawers and limited shelf space for clothes) and the bathrooms are small with barely existent shelf space and an only partially enclosed shower which meant any shower resulted in a wet floor. The other downside is that there is a popular bar/restaurant, Kale, across the street which on weekend nights tends to be pretty noisy until about 3am (Amsterdam regularly parties until early morning). I would not mind staying at Hotel V again, but think there may be better choices at this price range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The location is great as it is walking distance from many attractions such as the Rijkmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Vondelpark etc. There is the line 4 tram just outside hotel that was very useful as it brought you straight to centre of town and centraal station. The hotel is situated in a quite area which is a plus as you can have a peaceful nights sleep.The beds were amazing and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast was nice and the free coffee and tea were great for throughout the day. The only problem we had with the hotel was that we had to wait for a very long time for our room to be ready for check in. Also we couldnt get the hot water in our shower to work and it took them a while to get someone up to our room to help. Overall the hotel was very good and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are pleased that you had a nice stay, and only sorry that you had to wait to check in and get service for the shower. Sorry about that, we hope that next time we can show you an even better stay!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein has a nice location close to shopping streets and picturesque canals. It is walking distance to many attractions. We had an XL-double room on the top floor facing the main street outside. The overall design and decor of the hotel is nice, including the room, but there are definitely some details that need improvement taking into consideration the high rate we paid. I could mention the lack of elevator from the 2nd to the 4th floor, lack of soundproofing and heating in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and spacious - luckily. Overall you could probably find hotels that offer better value for money in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this monument building into a hotel, and the elevator to the top floor and floor heating in the bathroom were indeed one of them. But we are at least happy that you found the decor and the bed nice!
See you next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My fiance and I booked this hotel for our anniversary, and were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were just as advertised on the website; the bed was very comfortable, and the dark walls and black-out curtains were very restful. The free breakfast--which included croissants, fruit, and cereal--was very good, and we really enjoyed the coffee and tea available at the cozy bar and lounge. The location was great: close walking distance to all the sites (and just half an hour from the Amsterdam Centraal train station), yet removed from the hustle-and-bustle of the city center.
The Hotel V really made our trip extra special, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for choosing Hotel V Frederiksplein for your anniversary, and for leaving such a nice review! We are pleased that you had a good stay, and hope to welcome you back for next year's anniversary too!
Until then, all the best!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.