We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The location is great as it is walking distance from many attractions such as the Rijkmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Vondelpark etc. There is the line 4 tram just outside hotel that was very useful as it brought you straight to centre of town and centraal station. The hotel is situated in a quite area which is a plus as you can have a peaceful nights sleep.The beds were amazing and the staff were very friendly. The free breakfast was nice and the free coffee and tea were great for throughout the day. The only problem we had with the hotel was that we had to wait for a very long time for our room to be ready for check in. Also we couldnt get the hot water in our shower to work and it took them a while to get someone up to our room to help. Overall the hotel was very good and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are pleased that you had a nice stay, and only sorry that you had to wait to check in and get service for the shower. Sorry about that, we hope that next time we can show you an even better stay!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    304
    128
    60
    24
See reviews for
45
375
52
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein has a nice location close to shopping streets and picturesque canals. It is walking distance to many attractions. We had an XL-double room on the top floor facing the main street outside. The overall design and decor of the hotel is nice, including the room, but there are definitely some details that need improvement taking into consideration the high rate we paid. I could mention the lack of elevator from the 2nd to the 4th floor, lack of soundproofing and heating in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and spacious - luckily. Overall you could probably find hotels that offer better value for money in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this monument building into a hotel, and the elevator to the top floor and floor heating in the bathroom were indeed one of them. But we are at least happy that you found the decor and the bed nice!
See you next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My fiance and I booked this hotel for our anniversary, and were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were just as advertised on the website; the bed was very comfortable, and the dark walls and black-out curtains were very restful. The free breakfast--which included croissants, fruit, and cereal--was very good, and we really enjoyed the coffee and tea available at the cozy bar and lounge. The location was great: close walking distance to all the sites (and just half an hour from the Amsterdam Centraal train station), yet removed from the hustle-and-bustle of the city center.
The Hotel V really made our trip extra special, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for choosing Hotel V Frederiksplein for your anniversary, and for leaving such a nice review! We are pleased that you had a good stay, and hope to welcome you back for next year's anniversary too!
Until then, all the best!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Location is good, but the rooms are very small, breakfast is also average. They can improve the service of the hotel. Next time I will stay somewhere else. The connection to the RAI was great with tram 4.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We loved the Hotel V! The staff was excellent -- friendly and helpful -- and the hotel itself is funky and charming, from the sleek floors to the lobby fireplace to the tiny elevator. The breakfast each morning was beautifully arranged and offered lots of choices from fresh fruit to boiled eggs, trays of meats and cheeses, and lots of breads. We rented bikes from the hotel, and also bought transit cards there. They arranged for a taxi to the train station on our last morning and even printed our boarding passes. The hotel is convenient to multiple tram lines, and an easy walk to the museums and shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back get less traffic noise from the fairly busy street out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are pleased that you had a nice experience, and hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia. We stayed in a "Small Double" these rooms are in the basement and therefore the floor in the room was really cold during our stay in March! The radiator warmed up the room though & as long as you kept something on your feet the cold wasn’t too much of a big deal.
We took Tram Number 4 to the hotel from Central Station. It’s about 7 stops along from Central on this route to the hotel.
The check in was easy & pleasant service. A credit card pre authorisation was needed on arrival for any breakages etc.
Free tea & coffee from the bar during our stay & the continental breakfast had lots of choice beware that 11 a.m approached the food quickly ran out & wasn’t replaced.
There was 11 of us in total staying at the hotel and myself and my boyfriend had room number 10. I honestly think it was just our room (No 10) but the shower was awful - no pressure & really quite cold & didn’t heat up. All the other people in our group were raving about how great their showers were so I think it was just our room.
The other problem with room 10 is that it is directly below the reception so from very early in the morning & throughout the entire day you can here banging of the heels from the girls on reception really loud through the ceiling whenever they move about - we didn’t complain and therefore cannot comment on if they would have been happy to move us to a different room.
The hotel is really modern and clean & in a good location from everything.
Really nice restaurants around the area, we ate at the nearby Mexican (about a 10 minute walk away) was really good service & food. There is a local supermarket just across the way where you can buy cheap water & drinks. Would stay here again, and would stay in a small double as it was more than adequate for 2 adults but wouldn’t stay in room 10.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 10 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice design hotel, comfy beds, and lovely open fire, unfortunately a very cold room, when I told the receptionist she literally just laughed with no apology..what a shame for otherwise a great hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are sorry that you found the room cold (did you turn the heater on? It is our policy not to keep the heaters running if the room is not occupied before you!), but the V crew member should not have laughed. Sometimes one's sense of humor doesn't come off in the right way- sorry about that!
Hope to welcome you another time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.