We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stylish rooms, great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #136 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great location, stylish rooms, great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in March 2014. I found the location to be great - walking distance to all major attractions and in a safe neighbourhood. The rooms were small yet designed well, bathroom was very nice and the bed was comfortable. There was a little noise as I stayed in room 103 (one of the cheaper rooms) which was in a hallway therefore you could hear people and they passed through to their rooms, plus walking up and down the stairs. Despite this I slept well and only heard the noise when already awake. The free breakfast is a major bonus, great selection, nice sitting area and plenty of food available. I did alot of research before choosing this hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone - it has a great quality location price ratio.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are happy that yo had a nice time, and we do hope that you make it back one day soon!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    368
    146
    69
    28
See reviews for
53
463
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bed are comfy and the hotel is very clean. The staff are excellent - very helpful and knowledgable. Only downside was that, despite requesting a double room, only twin rooms were available when we checked in so we had to downgrade from a large double to a standard double. I'd say the 'standard double' was small so the 'small' must be tiny!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
So sorry to hear that that happened! Next time you book at Hotel v Frederiksplein please send us an email and we will make sure it doesn't happen again! stay@hotelv.nl

Thanks for the review!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed for my birthday weekend and didn't know amsterdam so found it really cool to be in such a good location easy walk to the center through a trendy fashion/ restaurant area but far enough away from the noisy stonned tourists in closer to Dam square.

The only small things I would say could be improved was the lighting in the rooms that was a little too dark especially with the black floors and bathroom tiles, also the shower would have benefited from a curtain because every time we used the rain head it pretty much soaked the whole room. House keepers did a great job though whenever we returned the place was spotless so nice! Lastly I would of loved some mustard or mayo to have with the breakfast buffet because it's so damn good just needed some savoury condiments!

Would totally stay again staff, location and ambience of hotel are fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the review! I am only sorry to say that we do indeed have mayo and mustard in the kitchen, we just don't put it out for breakfast (breakfast?!). So if you had asked, you would have gotten more mustard and mayo than you could have handled! So now you know for next time!

And thank you for the feedback about the lighting and the shower. I will pass that on to the management and see what we can do.

Til next time,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were aware that our room was one of the basement rooms, and the actual picture for those is from our room. What is not shown there is that the dimensions are unbelievably small (there is almost no space to move, two people would barely fit standing, and there is no wardrobe as such, obviously no door. I was very disappointed with this, I was not expecting something wonderful, but at least somewhere where you could breathe or move somewhere that was not the bed.
Toilet ok, small but cute and clean.

Room Tip: Don't choose the basement rooms, they are overpriced and the dimensions are ridiculous. Almost i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Indeed! When you book a "small room"...that is what you get! We are not lying, in fact we call it a "small room" so that people are aware of that when they book. ...And yet people are still surprised.

Next time if you want a large room, there are also the rooms called "large room" and "xlarge room". Try one of those!

Thanks fo the review, and see you again soon we hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a warm welcome & excellent comfortable, modern Loft!
Really great Loft; the children loved the view at the busy square (and good isolated huge windows!). Also ideal: the tea & Nespresso machine, the little kitchen makes getting your own breakfast possible; enough bakery's/market around the corner!

Room Tip: Loft 1 has a great view on the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel V lofts. We are pleased to hear that it was a nice stay for your family, and that the children liked the view. And with a young family....I can imagine that the coffee was indeed a perk! ;)

See you again some time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It was well placed for cycling, sightseeing and there is a choice of good bars and restaurants nearby! The hotel is modern and clean, beds are comfy and the breakfast was very good! We'd happily stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and love this location as much as we do!
See you again soon I hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were really excited, because of the beautiful pictures on the website, but...

The warmth (a warm welcome: "we are so happy to have you in our hotel", was nowhere to be found!
Design-wise it was very minimal, and a great lack of cosiness, whilst that's what is reflected on the site, in reality!

The employees were not very competent and most of them not even Dutch! Except for two girls. But again, no service or courtesy at all...

Our room was double booked, which we found out on the afternoon of our arrival.
But not even a gesture to try and make up for their mistake in anyway, not even an apology!

We supposedly had the 'best room' in the hotel that night, but it was very noisy (from the inside/hallway, as well as the outside (no double glazing), so hardly any sleep at all...

The bed & the breakfast were great though !

Room Tip: I suggest you look for a different hotel completely! We will not be returning here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, General Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Your room was not double booked, but we accidentally booked you in the wrong room category. When we realised our mistake, we contacted you immediately with the following options:

- Free cancellation of your night at Hotel V
- Upgrade to our sister hotel, the 4 star Hotel v Nesplein
- A slightly smaller room category including breakfast for a lower rate
- Free drinks on arrival

We find it really surprising that you decided to leave a negative review, because out of all of the options that we offered you above, you chose to stay in one of our xlarge rooms (one that you personally chose) at a lower rate. We did apologise to you several times (at least 3 times that we can see by email, and several times in person and on the phone). We understand that this was a mistake on our part, but we did our utmost best to please you, and in this case we feel that we did the best we could.

Kind Regards,
Jan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#76 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#154 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#93 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.