We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, great value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #131 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Loved it, great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my birthday weekend and didn't know amsterdam so found it really cool to be in such a good location easy walk to the center through a trendy fashion/ restaurant area but far enough away from the noisy stonned tourists in closer to Dam square.

The only small things I would say could be improved was the lighting in the rooms that was a little too dark especially with the black floors and bathroom tiles, also the shower would have benefited from a curtain because every time we used the rain head it pretty much soaked the whole room. House keepers did a great job though whenever we returned the place was spotless so nice! Lastly I would of loved some mustard or mayo to have with the breakfast buffet because it's so damn good just needed some savoury condiments!

Would totally stay again staff, location and ambience of hotel are fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the review! I am only sorry to say that we do indeed have mayo and mustard in the kitchen, we just don't put it out for breakfast (breakfast?!). So if you had asked, you would have gotten more mustard and mayo than you could have handled! So now you know for next time!

And thank you for the feedback about the lighting and the shower. I will pass that on to the management and see what we can do.

Til next time,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    271
    117
    54
    21
See reviews for
39
339
50
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were aware that our room was one of the basement rooms, and the actual picture for those is from our room. What is not shown there is that the dimensions are unbelievably small (there is almost no space to move, two people would barely fit standing, and there is no wardrobe as such, obviously no door. I was very disappointed with this, I was not expecting something wonderful, but at least somewhere where you could breathe or move somewhere that was not the bed.
Toilet ok, small but cute and clean.

Room Tip: Don't choose the basement rooms, they are overpriced and the dimensions are ridiculous. Almost i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Indeed! When you book a "small room"...that is what you get! We are not lying, in fact we call it a "small room" so that people are aware of that when they book. ...And yet people are still surprised.

Next time if you want a large room, there are also the rooms called "large room" and "xlarge room". Try one of those!

Thanks fo the review, and see you again soon we hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a warm welcome & excellent comfortable, modern Loft!
Really great Loft; the children loved the view at the busy square (and good isolated huge windows!). Also ideal: the tea & Nespresso machine, the little kitchen makes getting your own breakfast possible; enough bakery's/market around the corner!

Room Tip: Loft 1 has a great view on the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel V lofts. We are pleased to hear that it was a nice stay for your family, and that the children liked the view. And with a young family....I can imagine that the coffee was indeed a perk! ;)

See you again some time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It was well placed for cycling, sightseeing and there is a choice of good bars and restaurants nearby! The hotel is modern and clean, beds are comfy and the breakfast was very good! We'd happily stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and love this location as much as we do!
See you again soon I hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were really excited, because of the beautiful pictures on the website, but...

The warmth (a warm welcome: "we are so happy to have you in our hotel", was nowhere to be found!
Design-wise it was very minimal, and a great lack of cosiness, whilst that's what is reflected on the site, in reality!

The employees were not very competent and most of them not even Dutch! Except for two girls. But again, no service or courtesy at all...

Our room was double booked, which we found out on the afternoon of our arrival.
But not even a gesture to try and make up for their mistake in anyway, not even an apology!

We supposedly had the 'best room' in the hotel that night, but it was very noisy (from the inside/hallway, as well as the outside (no double glazing), so hardly any sleep at all...

The bed & the breakfast were great though !

Room Tip: I suggest you look for a different hotel completely! We will not be returning here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, General Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Your room was not double booked, but we accidentally booked you in the wrong room category. When we realised our mistake, we contacted you immediately with the following options:

- Free cancellation of your night at Hotel V
- Upgrade to our sister hotel, the 4 star Hotel v Nesplein
- A slightly smaller room category including breakfast for a lower rate
- Free drinks on arrival

We find it really surprising that you decided to leave a negative review, because out of all of the options that we offered you above, you chose to stay in one of our xlarge rooms (one that you personally chose) at a lower rate. We did apologise to you several times (at least 3 times that we can see by email, and several times in person and on the phone). We understand that this was a mistake on our part, but we did our utmost best to please you, and in this case we feel that we did the best we could.

Kind Regards,
Jan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Dear Hotel V,

After spending our two weeks of Christmas vacation apart, there was only one day of holidays left for my boyfriend and I to spend together. We decided to go to hotel V for this one night. In this short time, you really surprised us by your hospitality, great facilities, and delicious breakfast. But most of all, we were impressed by in the room itself, especially by the relaxed but cool design, and great shower. In short: our compliments on the quality for such a fair price!
We will try to stay longer during our next holiday:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello, and thank you for the very kind, warm review!
We are happy that we could make the stay with your boyfriend special.
Come back anytime!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The decor is nice, but the manner of some of the staff takes the sheen off what could be a nice experience.

In my opinion there are plenty of better located hotels of a better quality at a similar or lower price.

Access to the trams is easy with 4 lines within 50 yards. There are jot many good eating or drinking spots close by...

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. I am only curious about your experience with some of the staff, as we take pride in offering friendly service at all times. If you could get in touch with me at amanda@hotelv.nl with a few more details, I would really appreciate it!

Thank you again, and hope to hear from you!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.