We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #136 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Thank you Hotel V crew for the excellent service, the free up-grade and the warm welcome! We planned one night away in our home town Amsterdam and Hotel V is perfect located in a nice area with restaurants. Excellent bed comfort, a nice fireplace and lovely breakfast with fresh cappuccino.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    276
    119
    57
    22
See reviews for
44
349
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geldrop, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Conveniently situated between the centre and "de Pijp" area of Amsterdam. A cosy lobby area, good breakfast and free tea and coffee all day. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.As we are from a small village we found the room we had on the street side a little noisy but they gave us a choice of 3 other rooms at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of December. The hotel is right next to a tram stop so it's very easy to get around. The room was comfortable and just what we wanted for a short break. Breakfast was included and there was a great selection. There's a fire in the hotel which is lovely to sit round in the evening :)

The staff were very friendly and gave a us a map when we arrived (very late on Thursday night) and pointed out the main sights. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and the Heineken Experience. It's well connected by tram to most places in the city too. The hotel is right opposite the tram stop.

We had a basement room so the downsides were a small window and a bit of noise at night from people walking by the path and glass being emptied bottle bank... To be fair though though the noise is out of the hotel's control! If you have young children or wake up easily you might want to book a room on another floor. The rest of the hotel was great and we were out sight-seeing most of the time anyway :)

Positives: The decor, the breakfast, the fire in the lobby, the location and the staff :)
Negatives: Basement room was a bit noisy.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Basement rooms were noisy during the night because of the pathway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had a really pleasant stay at this hotel. Besides it's perfect location in the city centre, with the tram stop right in front of the doorstep, it's a really nice hotel. I prefer a good-looking room with quality materials above a larger, but crappy looking hotel. Hotel V Frederiksplein was the best opportunity for me. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is good and the hotel lobby looks nice and inviting. The big fire place is a lovely place to stay at night and have a drink! There's also a good wi-fi connection, what's important because I combined a business trip with a romantic trip to Amsterdam ;-)

Room Tip: I got the cheapest room with big windows, because I like to look out on the streets. I had a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

It was very cold in a bathroom and room's cleaning was very light.
Strong point: breakfast and free coffe/tea all the day. Location is great too.
I stayed 3 nights and i had impression to see a new person every morning/aftenoon ang evening at reception.
A standart room for two was in another building behind a stunding hotel's building.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you are after a modern place to stay in Amsterdam then HOTEL V Frederiksplein is for you! extremely clean, very friendly, and most of all the beds are very comfy!

Great location within the city - with a major tram stop out the front - or you can just walk to all the major attractions!

Breakfast was a great way to start your day of adventure

Will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the larger size - its worth the little extra! 312 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Hotel V is easy to access with a tram stop across the road, and another around the corner.
We had a room on the 2nd floor with street views.
It is also close to the museum precinct
Although the room was very small it contained everything that we needed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on restaurants in the area as well as local markets.
The hotel provides a good continental breakfast which was included in our rate.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.