We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Compact City and Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #129 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Notitngham, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a Compact City and Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My trip to Amsterdam (15/10-18/10/13) included a stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. So glad. This compact hotel was value for money whilst being close to the city, clean and friendly. The staff on the desk were extremely helpful in organising a ticket to Rijksmuseum (to avoid the general ticket que) and directing me to the city's sites. The bar staff were also helpful in recommending a few great local restaurants - incl. the sister hotel which has a restaurant (great food!). Breakfast in the mornings was also good. More than enough. Whilst my room was small it contained all that I required - a comfortable bed, bathroom and tv. Looking out on to the main street was great to see the passers-by; quiet at night. The point of travelling is to spend as much time out of the hotel room as possible to see the signs of the place you are visiting but you want somewhere inviting to return to at the end of the day; that's what Hotel V was for me. I highly recommend it to travellers. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review! :) Thank you for writing it, and we hope to one day welcome you back to Hotel V Frederiksplein.

All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    299
    128
    59
    24
See reviews for
44
373
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October. Was offered a (fairly) cheap upgrade to a double rather than small room and took it. The small room I looked at was quite small but another (Room 8) was a good size so I guess it differs. Shower and room very nice and the bed was really comfy!

Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection with plenty to eat. You can get free tea/coffee too at the bar if you stay which was excellent and I found the staff very helpful and friendly.

All in all a lovely stay at a cool pad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. It's really nice to hear that you had a good stay, and we hope that if you ever make it back to Amsterdam you will come again!

All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfinztal, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location is ideal, at the edge of the famous "Grachten Ring". Round the Hotel are nice Shops and Restaurants, and a street market.

We had a Souterrain room, which was very, very tiny. for two big persons it would be impossible to move. The shower was stylisch, but everything was wet after showering.
The breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

a Highlight is the Lobby with the open fire- especially in the dark and cold season. ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein.
We are glad you had a good stay, and look forward to one day welcoming you back!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel V Frederiksplein for 2 nights and found it perfect for a weekend break. The local area is full of resturants, bars and shops while being within short walking distance from the popular Musuemplein, Leidplein and Rembrandplein. The staff knowledgeable and very helpful with transfer information when the trams and trains shut-down due to a server storm (St Jude). The continental breakfast was lovely and tasty with fresh coffee, rolls and pasties on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. It's nice to hear that you had a great stay, but I am so sorry that you experienced Amsterdam during such a storm! That was a crazy time in the city!
Anyway, hope to welcome you back again one day soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located, being far enough from the night scene noises but close to the museums and all major tramway lines. The room was clean and nice, as the lobby and the dining room. One disapointing point was the staff (or some of it). The bartender was just not interested in doing her job... Better drink in your own room then ! Also, the Wi-Fi went off one night, so we had to go in the lobby to book our rental car, but we got kicked out at midnight by the employee working the front desk, so we had to finish the reservation the morning after. Overall, if the hotel correct those points, it can become a must go in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. I'm glad you had a good stay, but am concerned about your experience with some of the staff. I will be in touch via email to find out more about this.
Hope to welcome you back again one day!
Amanda
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

during our stayed our room was always clean, however the rooms are small. the hotel is in a very nice location close to public transport, it has a nice ambiance, and lovely lobby. the breakfast is a plus, having unlimited coffee and tea. the staff is friendly and always keen to help.

Room Tip: try to choose the back building or if the room is located in the lower floor of main building reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! Hope to see you again some time! Next time, try one of our other room sizes- there are 4, plus loft apartments next door.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We both really enjoyed our stay at Hotel V. The room was small but perfectly fine for two people, beds were really comfy as was the bedding. The communal lounge was very relaxing, especially on a wet Sunday when the rain did not ease off all day. Breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from and we were pleasantly surprised by the free tea and coffee during our stay. I will definitely be looking up Hotel V when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, it's the best compliment! Thank you and see you again!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.