We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bulldog.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #134 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bulldog.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel makes you smile as soon as you walk in as you're greeted by a charming bulldog statue.
Checking in was a pleasure as the staff were all very friendly. They were also helpful when it came to the surrounding area. They give you a map of the city on check in and highlight the fun places to go.
The hotel is in such a good location. There is a whole road of posh designer shops and restaurants really close to the hotel and a great market road in the other direction. Just outside the hotel there is a tram stop which has great links to everywhere in Amsterdam. There is also a lush green square which it lovely to relax in if you arrive before check in like we did.
They have one lift in the hotel which just about fits two people and a suitcase. If you have a big suitcase then good luck. The stairs are quite steep but I am rather unfit and I could still tackle them so they can't be all bad.
The rooms are small but I would say perfectly formed. From reading the reviews the main downsides I can see are the smaller, badly heated rooms and the noise. I would agree they are on the small side but we paid extra for a larger room which is definitely worth the few extra pounds.
It did get quite hot in the room and there was no air con so we had to keep the windows open. That in turn led to a noisy night. However it was nothing I couldn't sleep through as there is so much to do in Amsterdam during the day that by the time you get back to the hotel you're ready to sleep through anything!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor and it was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    345
    140
    65
    26
See reviews for
48
425
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Every staff is very helpful and always has big smile. The breakfast is the best compared with the breakfasd we had in Paris, Nice and Switerland. What's more, they offered free coffee and tea all day, whic is rare in the EU. Definitely will come back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was easy to find, we took a train (ticket 2,50€ at the machine if u buy it urself, 3€ at the counter if a lady sells it to u) to RAI station and then took a tram no. 4 directly to the hotel. It was clean, staff was extra super nice and the rooms were good. They were neatly decorated, but small, the bathroom was very clean but even smaller. The only thing that was missing in the bathroom was a little bigger counter so u can put the cosmetics on. We had a little construction noise in the morning but when I called the reception the guy went outside next door and asked them to be more quiet since it was only 7 am, and they were. So we didn't have any problems sleeping. We did have earplugs though. The beds are super comfy and we are very picky about our beds, since my boyfriend has a back problem.
Breakfast the next morning was awesome, bread and bunds still warm every day, fresh fruit and cut veggies, organic butter, cream cheese spreads, pate, cereal, cooked ham, 3 kinds if cheeses, don't let me start on mama dzambos jams! They were so good I wanted to get a jar to go, but for 25€ it was just too expensive for me... But boy, were they good!!!
We didn't spend so much time at the hotel, but one day it was raining so we were home early. Watched tv, they have plenty of movie channels (free) that are in english so u don't die trying to understand Dutch if ur stuck in the room 'cos of bad weather,
lol! We stayed on the first floor, room 209, we had two windows, no view but that wasn't a problem for us.
Next to the hotel is supermarket Lidl, which was a great thing. Everyday we went to get a bottle of water for 40 cents and a can of coke for 30 cents, they have fresh pastries (39 cents) all day that we got as snacks (apple, chocolate,...) so u don't break your wallet by getting the small bottle (25ml) of water for 2€ in the old town in the center.
Overall we loved the hotel, we would recommend it for sure and would stay here again!
Oh, u need around 20 min by foot to get to the coffee shops so we just bought a 48 hour tram ticket for 12€ each so we could hop on and off the trams. The first day we walked but the
city center is so big we were so tired by the end of the day that we decided to buy tram tickets. U can also rent a bike at the hotel for 15€ for 24h. Tram is cheaper and u don't have to bother locking it every time u decide to stop somewhere.
Oh, all the entrance fees for all kinds of museums, dungeons,
Zoo are from 15€ to 20€...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was my first time in Amsterdam. At first we were about to stay in an XL room(because we had booked before) but then we changed the day of our arrival (we were in Brussels, and really anxious to go to Amsterdam) and we've upgraded for the LOFT. The girl at front desk said "you're gonna love it" and that's exactly what happened! It's like you being home. To go to the room you don't pass through the principal entrance, which makes you feel that you are not arriving in a hotel. There's big windows, an excellent kitchen with everything to make your own food(there's also good restaurants around), a good shower and bathroom, even they're separated, there's also a good living room and a Nespresso coffee machine. Everything to make you feel good. The STAFF is excellent, really friendly and ready do help you with anything. There's also bikes to rent, and I really recommend it if you want to enjoy the most of stay. Amsterdam is a city to discover by bike! The breakfast is also great and fresh! I really have nothing bad to say about Hotel V. Plus, the location is excelent too, not too crowd like if you stay close the touristic places, but is also really close to everything (7 minutes by bike or 10 minutes walking). If (and I will) I return to Amsterdam, I'll stay there again for sure and I really recommend to my friends to stay there as well. Thanks for the hospitality, dutch people! See you soon! Cheers, Pedro

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the hotel is situated in the right place, reception is well managed , cool place to stay!!!!. Food service is good. Rooms are little bit darker and makes it hard to see things when you are good.(high) but normally it's all right. Main thing you need a service where you feel you've got one and this is the place where you will feel that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

For everyone that loves modern design and a touch of Mid-Century, this is a really nice place to stay at. Just around the corner and up the street you can alrealy find a bunch of nice stores and eating places.

It would be nice if breakfast was included and the bikes were a bit cheaper than 15 Euro. Really nice staff, 24 h service.

Room Tip: the lofts are worth the money. particulairly loft 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly staff, very cozy and clean rooms, delicious breakfast wth fresh fruit salad, wonderful! There is a tram stop right across from the hotel, the museums are in walking distance and there are also lots of great cafés and restaurants closse by. Really a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 303 (twin bedroom) is spacious and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.