We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, Amsterdam 1017 XV , The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #132 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I enjoed staying here for the Amsterdam Marathon. The rooms are small but stylish. Extemely nice bed and a nice bathroom as well. I stayed at the 4th floor and loved the beautiful ceiling. But it is indeed noise, so remember to bring your ear plugs.. The staff are extremely friendly and service-minded and I had the impression that it was their own place. Quite unique and amazing. So thumps up for the atmosphere, the rooms and the service, and thumps down for the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    293
    123
    56
    21
See reviews for
38
333
49
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I personally don't understand the issue with the room size in these reviews. We booked a small double and it was perfect for us. There was controllable heating, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very pretty and we loved the unique touches that made this hotel so sleek and quirky - like our gold glittery floor! The foyer for this hotel is just beautiful, with the open fire and the gold bulldog. Design wise it was really beautiful, and the staff are excellent. They were always so friendly and helpful, and did not treat us rudely for our not speaking Dutch, which was a great relief. The breakfast is also brilliant and amazing value for money. Most hotels that include breakfast in the price provide very poor breakfast, but this was lovely. We found the hotel easily and checked in late in the evening. I would say to everyone be prepared to pay a "city tax". No one told us this, but apparently we must pay ten Euros to enter the city, which the hotel charged us when we arrived. We had already paid our hotel bill in advance, so luckily we had change on us to pay this city tax. We were on the ground floor, and it was really quiet and lovely. The shower was blissful. I don't know what else to say, we had such a wonderful stay and would never dream of staying elsewhere in Amsterdam from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is located in the center, close to all attractions (tram 10 and 4). The only flaw is that the room is too small but as we don't spend all our time there it is not a real problem. Considering the room size, the price could be more competitive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Reception was very helpful in spite of my late arrival due to a delayed flight. Wi-fi worked just as well in the room as it did in the lobby. The room I was given was on the small side of the scale, especially the bathroom, but I was tired enough to not really care. As the other reviewers mentioned, the lighting is a bit dark, but for me that just made it easier for me to fall asleep.

The breakfast was very generous and had a wide selection of breads, cheeses, and fruits to choose from. Great way to start the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My "large room" was anything but, however this is Amsterdam. The first floor is quiet noisy so if you bring earplugs and don't expect to have your blinds open much. I'd request a higher up room next time. Delightful breakfast was included. The location was close to the tram and the metro.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor or not in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good points first
- friendly and helpful service
- good location, very close to the museum area and heinekin experience
- good breakfast, lots of choice and delicious bread rolls
- great toiletries

Bad Points
- very very small rooms, if you think you know small think smaller
- quite noisy not only from the street but from other guests at all times of the night
- bad lighting, it's very dark (I'm sure it's supposed to be designer dark but honestly it's just designer annoying)
- not that clean, the floor was never very clean and I found a cigarette butt in the bed (in a non smoking hotel no less)

Overall
If you're looking for a good location and good food and don't mind a small room and a bit of noise I'd stay here but I don't think I'd stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Finding good accommodation in Amsterdam is not easy due to a lack of hotel rooms and the often lousy service. This hotel is a very reasonable option, centrally located between the Pijp area and the nice shopping Street Utrechtsestraat. The Museum District is within walking distance too. Service is about right, friendly, and not overly casual (read: careless) as in many other Dutch establishments. The hotel's interior is dark/black which makes it a great and cosy get away for Autumn/Winter, perhaps less so for visiting in Summer. The fire place downstairs is great for a late-night glass of wine of meet up with friends. Avoid the basement rooms in the main building and cough up the additional 20 EUR to get a larger and brighter room upstairs (which are still relatively small by international standards, in particular the bathrooms). Basic but good-quality breakfast with fresh coffee and OJ, Dutch cheese. The breakfast room is light, quiet and has great views of the surrounding streets where trams and cyclists pass by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, Amsterdam 1017 XV , The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.