We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Genuine Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #139 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Western Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Genuine Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 23 year-old son and I (age 65) just spent nine nights at Hotel V. I was drawn to it by other reviews on Trip Advisor attesting to its modern amenities, free breakfast and in-room internet access. With limited geographical understanding of where it was located in relation to everything else, we jumped on board. We were not disappointed. First, its location. It is just sufficiently distant from all the "madness" of the central district (Red light district, etc) to provide some quiet and yet a quick ten minute at most tram ride away (the tram stops right in front of the hotel). It is close to the major museums (two tram stops away) and, this was the great surprise, only two blocks away from the largest outdoor market in the city. The latter provides endless varieties of cafe's, shopping, restaurants, etc. So, once we understood where we were, we cheered our choice of where we had situated ourselves.

This hotel "shouts" young, up and coming, professionalism. The front desk is staffed mostly by bright, attractive young college students who are incredibly helpful with directions, suggestions, Breakfast is a small feast, and a sandwich taken away makes in almost a twofer (bkfst, lunch). The breakfast layout sits on the bar that transforms into its originally intended purpose after breakfast is over and coffee is free and available all day.

If you are looking for an older style "bed and breakfast" environment, this isn't it. Everything in the hotel is modern. But, if you are looking for value and amenities (great showers and bathrooms along with flat screen TV's) then you can't do better than this. You do need to change your size dimensions as "large" european rooms are quite small by US standards, meaning only room for two beds, a small table and a fabric type closet, but we adapted to that reality and didn't find it much of a problem. But, it is an initial "sticker shock".

One caveat: We rode bikes everywhere and I highly recommend anyone capable of riding to do that. Amsterdam is an amazing bike experience. But, make sure you lock up your bike, and you might want to take the insurance of theft (we didn't, had a locked bike stolen and ended up paying a lot for that choice). There are lots of bikes ridden by locals that aren't locked, but the data points to 500K bike thefts/year, so it happens enough (mostly to unlocked bikes) so you might reconsider "throwing the dice".

All that said, Amsterdam is one of the most livable, lovely and sane cities in which I have spent time. I could easily live there for a while. And, the Hotel V is a great base from which to explore all its assets. You won't regret making the choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    276
    119
    57
    22
See reviews for
43
349
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel was very nice, clean and in a central position, but the room was very very very small. Breakfast is really good and the staff was really ready to help you in every moment. I want to underline that the room is the ONLY "problem" for us: if one of us took a shower, the other one must be on bed, because we didn't have space. We are two young people and for the time that we spent in hotel, it wasn't a problem, but someone else can be unhappy for the space in room. If I will return to Amsterdam, I'll take in consideration this hotel to return there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Amsterdam is a city with a leisurely pace (probably due to the number of bikes) and the hotel matches it well. The front desk staff was very helpful. They made a dinner reservation for me in advance via email at my request and provided great directions and assistance for traveling around the city. They had tram passes at the front desk for sale at only an additional 50 cents per pass. Other reviews have mentioned the convenience of the tram stop just across the street. The only problem with that is if you have a street-side room, the trams produce significant noise on the rails. The rooms were very clean and while smaller than rooms in the U.S., are quite consistent with the rest of Europe. Breakfast was fine but not overwhelming. The location is away from the hustle of Leideslplein or Dam Square but you can be in those places via tram in a matter of 5 minutes. This is probably the only drawback as there aren't as many places at which you can eat or people-watch nearby. Also, beware that the elevator only travels to the third floor so you then have to lug your suitcases up a very steep, narrow staircase if you are on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street to reduce the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a great, stylish, and comfortable hotel. My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were passing through. The hotel was in a great location and was a very cozy kind of place. It was dark, it was cold feeling, but this is the style of the hotel. The decor reminds me of a night club from the 70's but with a cozy flair. There are no formal chandeliers, bedding, lighting, etc. All of the decor looks like it is very sleek and industrial. If you don't like that then this hotel isn't for you. I had just left a 5 star hotel in Switzerland and to me it was a perfect place to stay. The staff was very helpful, they arranged a car service for us, and even prepared an early breakfast for us before we left so that we would be at the airport on time. I don't understand anyone giving this hotel bad reviews. The bad reviews have to be from people that can appreciate a quaint hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.