We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & Stylish Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Stylish Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights as this ultra stylish hotel - nice staff and great location. It's far from the hustle and bustle of the centre, but not too far to walk into or home from Damrak. Very clean and the staff will make you tea or coffee anytime.

Perfect for couples who are in Amsterdam for a nice time and looking to avoid stag do's and lager louts etc! We will be returning next year...

One thing i would advise is go for a larger room. We had the smallest available and it was cramped and incredibly hot... but i can't complain, because alot of reviews did say "get a bigger room!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    304
    130
    60
    24
See reviews for
45
376
53
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

pros - great location, cool bar and lobby, clean rooms. chose the hotel for price, location and the fact that breakfast was included in the rate.
Cons - rooms are small but that's what you expect of amsterdam. room wasn't cleaned each day - not sure if this is usual for a 3 star hotel. often our towels weren't replaced and when i rang to get some from the front desk i was told on two occasions that there was only one person on duty so i'd have to come and get them myself. the room came with a free bottle of prosecco - but when we called to get it brought up i was promptly told that it was a 3 star hotel that didn't offer room service and to come and get it myself. the breakfast was fine - pretty stock standard, however i was really disappointed with the crockery - sounds odd but literally every bowl and plate had multiple massive chips - not a good look!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Having read previous reviews (after booking) I was concerned the room would be small and noisy and the staff unhelpful. I therefore contacted the hotel and addressed my concerns with them explaining that this was our honeymoon and that my husband is a large rugby player. When we arrived the staff could not have been more lovely. We had been put into the largest room the hotel had to offer, which also had a small balcony. The room was more than adequate for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, the noise minimal and the ensuite adequate. If I had one minor issue that would be the bulb in the light over the bed could have been more powerful. But this was minor. Although not in the centre of the main areas of Amsterdam the tram stops right outside the hotel and is very easy to use and access the tourist spots from. Our whole stay was wonderful and I would most certainly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Last week i stayed at this hotel. I paid 170 euro for a double bedroom with my friend. Elevator didnt reach our floor so we had to take the stairs between 2nd and 3rd floor. The room was approx two meter wide and 3 m long. You couldnt walk around the bed without hitting the sade that was on the floor, and definitely you could not move together in the same room at the same time. Instead of a proper drawer or closet they had put a nylon one.

Bathroom: mirror was on chest level (i am 178cm). Showerhead was attached to wall do you couldnt shower without getting your hair wet....

Breakfast: not enough tables do people sat in the lobby on so called tree trunks. Each were 40 cm high so if you are tall you sit with your head between your ears.

I am a frequent traveller but this hotel is not worth your money. 170 euro..... I would give 90 euro at the most.....
Nh hotels are better quality for your money and the rooms are much bigger. Was very disappointed. We had room 402. Make sure you dont get this room. Also there was no airconditioning while this room was under the roof.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the hotel V. As previous reviews say the lobby and breakfast area are very nice. There is free tea and coffee and the breakfast was lovely and fresh. The rooms are small but very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The tram stop outside is very useful to get to and from central station (in about 10 mins) but all the main tourist areas, museums etc are within walking distance. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.