We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Nights at Hotel V - Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Frederiksplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Frederiksplein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Three Nights at Hotel V - Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent three nights with friends based on their recommendation of Hotel V and left feeling content. The young vibe to the place and great common area were the highlights, especially the fireplace where a last night drink was a must! Averagely priced, medium sized rooms and good service made our stay enjoyable. A good location with direct access to the tram line. All around recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    304
    130
    60
    24
See reviews for
45
376
53
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The staff was mildly friendly, but unfortunately my group was treated like second class citizens. Accusations were made that we broke things and charges were left on our credit card with no proof. The hotel was extremely noisy and for these reasons I would highly reccomend staying in another location. The stair well to the third floor was extremely narrow and steep one must be very careful not to trip or fall. Disaster!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Without calling front desk for assistance, the guest used a hotel vacuum taken from the hallway to take water out of the sink in his room, which naturally broke the vacuum cleaner beyond repair.
After informing the guest of the incurred cost to replace the brand new broken vacuum (the actual cost of the vacuum), he unfortunately threatened to leave this bad review on Tripadvisor unless we would not reduce the cost.
In every other respect, this guest and his group were a pleasure to have in the hotel and they are welcome back any time...as long as they do not vacuum any more sinks.

Kind regards,

management hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here with friends at the end of May / early June 2012. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy it was a little noisy but this is mainly down to the doors and stairs in the buildings rather than its location.The rooms are small and I do mean small but do the job for a short stay. Some of the stairs are in the hotel very steep so you need to be carefull. Breakfast is light continental, and is fine to start the day. It's well located for attractions and there is a tram stop right outside if you dont want to walk . Overall we enjoyed our time at Hotel V and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Dorset
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is a 25-30 Minute walk from the Central train station. It was easy to find and once there was an easy walk to all the main Amsterdam attractions. The Hotel is clean and tidy and quite trendy, but the rooms are extraordinarily small, our room didn’t even have anywhere to hang or put clothes so we had to literally live out of the suitcase, which was not really acceptable. There are stairs everywhere in this Hotel, up to reception with no handrails; my husband had to assist an elderly lady up the stairs, also stairs down to the reception cloakrooms, which are kite winders and very, very steep. We were given a room in the rear building accessed from reception through to an outside walk way into the rear building. We were in room 302 which is in the roof space of that building. The stairs leading to this were so steep that it required crawling on your hands and knees (which is interesting with a large suitcase….!) Once there head height was ok, but this would be an absolute disaster for the disabled, elderly, unfit and families with small children. Now to the positives… The reception staff were excellent, very pleasant and helpful without being over the top. Free tea and coffee all day and night at the bar which I think is a trade off as there would be no possible way to put a tea tray in the rooms as they are so small. Breakfast was of a good standard and the bread was baked at the bar so it was fresh and the meat, cheese, pate, fruit and cereal selection was good. Would I recommend this Hotel? Mmmmm to people I know maybe as long as they were fit and able and happy to climb over their partner to get out of bed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Frederiksplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.