We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Best pancakes!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pancake Bakery

The Pancake Bakery
Prinsengracht 191, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6251333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! Best pancakes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Definitely the best pancakes iv ever had. So filling and tasty. I had the apple with cinnamon. Amazing! Pricey but worth it. About 8 to 13 euros for pancakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    474
    196
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Order Dutch Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went on a Sunday morning at about 1040am and it actually was not busy, no lineups. This is located very close to the Anne Frank House. We both ordered the Dutch pancakes (Because this is Holland) and were very impressed. The service was a bit slow, but we were not in a hurry. I will order the Dutch pancakes again next time we visit. A nice experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good pancake, but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We got this sugestion by one of our amsterdam guide. After confirming wit Tripadvisor rating, we gave it a try and got there for breakfast. The pancake with bacon was big and tasty, but the service was terrible. We waited almost 10 min to get the menu... Also to pay. I would not recommend if you are on a hurry to visit the city and do not bother to sit there for at least one hour only to eat a pancake!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over expectations always lead to disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Over many researches from Tripadvisor, guidebooks and website, we have decided to try the traditional Dutch pancakes at the Pancake Bakery. I had the "Canadian" pancake which contains bacon, onion, mushroom, ham and cheese. Expected the cheese to be covered and malted all over the pancake, however, it is not enough and it tastes as a low-quality. It is true that their pancakes are quite big and enough for 2 people to shared as a snack incase you would like to save some room in your stomach to try more food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing Special - Check Out the Competition instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After trying pancakes at Pancakes! we were very disappointed by the food at The Pancake Bakery the next day. The pancakes were mediocre and I struggled to see what everyone else is raving about. We had a mushroom, bacon and cheese dutch pancake and another with bacon, cheese and onion. Expected the cheese to be mozzerella and not chedder (this was just an assumption so can't blame them for that). The pancakes were greasier and browner then they should have been. The price is also dearer than their competition even though the food is not as good. Also the service was shoddy. Finally got the bottle of water we ordered 45minutes after ordering and had to remind them twice

2 pancakes and a small bottle of water cost us €26

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pancake Bakery also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Pancake Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pancake Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.