We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Prins

Cafe De Prins
Prinsengracht 124, 1015 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
(020) 6249382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #393 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Cheshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

we wanted somewhere alongside the canal, not too pricey and a vegetarian choice that was not pasta and were lucky enough to find this place.
Great service, good food - I had the vegetrian wrap with bombay potatoes! lovely.
fab place to watch the world go by and the view down to the Westerkerk is lovely

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    88
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our tour guide sent us here and was spot on. According to him, it's one of the few places the locals will go that's near the Anne Frank house. The food was excellent and the service friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try their tapas & free wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Their vegetable spring roll and biterballen was delicious! You look at the bitterballen and it looks like a fried meatball, but when you bite into it the inside is surprisingly creamy and flavorful. The spring roll had rice noodles in it along with some vegetables. Free wifi inside too!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is a household name in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had an hour or so before our allotted time to visit the Anne Frank House. So we decided to grab a cold drink since the day was so hot, at this cafe opposite. The hostel we were staying at recommended it and we were delighted with the service we received. I attempted some poor Dutch at best when first entering, to be polite, and sure enough this was well received, despite the fact it was clear I was English. The bar staff were very friendly and good humoured, I felt as if I was a guest in their home.

We sat outside with our cold drinks, next to the canal (a must if the weather is nice) and just soaked up the beauty of the location, the aromas and the culture of Amsterdam. The draft Heineken was great, very reasonably priced as well. Would love to return one day to try the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful low-key canal-side dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

A perfect lunch spot after visiting Anne Frank's House across the canal. Great, fresh delicious food, nice staff, relaxed service. We enjoyed the smoked salmon sandwich, caprese pasta, tomato soup, etc.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Prins also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Prins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Prins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.