We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the pumpkin soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Peru

Casa Peru
Leidsegracht 68, 1016 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6203749
Improve this listing
Ranked #954 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Oslo
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Choose the pumpkin soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Delicious pumpkin soup with some fresh coriander. Picante de Mariscos, however, was not particularly piquant, only strong. Consisted of various seafoods (including some whole baby octopus) with a red sauce with no identifyable taste.
Nice, quiet atmosphere

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I guess they got good reviews when it was just opened, Now, they even tell you that they do not care about the clients. I have booked a table and got there I was told that I had to wait for an hour to be seated..I said that wasn't correct from their side, the answer I got was: no one inside cares about you as a client, so if you are not happy please leave. I travel a lot and for the first time I write a very bad comment. I will not recommend this place

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very good Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Enjoy the Food which is very delicious!
Great Service!
Ambience is not that sophisticated!
Central Location in AMS

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not bad but not exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We went tonight and all in all there was nothing wrong with our meal but it lacked excitement and was rather heavy . The other issue was that at 75 Euros for the two of us ( no alcohol) it was rather over priced for what we had ( starter, 2 chicken dishes and 1 dessert) . The staff were pleasant and polite.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a wonderful evening we had here sitting by the canal as dusk arrived. After a couple of Belgium beers we ordered from the menu. We had never had Peruvian food before but we are converts now! Try the ceviche and pork belly as starters- full of flavor and just delicious. Main dishes are delicious too- lots of choices, seafood, lamb, chicken, soups etc- and, again, so packed full of flavor. And you HAVE to try a dessert- just to die for. Be sure to book outside in the summer- it gets way too hot inside. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Peru also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Casa Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Peru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.