We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Peru

Casa Peru
Leidsegracht 68, 1016 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6203749
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Peruvian
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

the restaurant is very simple and does not have a lot of decoration. The interior is a bit "cold" or maybe just very simple. However the food was very very nice! I would visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    15
    13
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great little Peruvian fusion restaurant. We had a bunch of appetizers. They were all quite nice. Service very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were a group of four and we decided to share four different main dishes in order to try different things. Everything was very tasty and well plated ( for Peruvian food) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I recommend it and I will go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went for the restaurant week. Very bad service, very bad food, very expensive. I wrote a bad review an the restaurant manager called me to insult me in a very rude way. A disaster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food,very friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and i,ate here on the 3rd night of our trip,having eaten at another peruvian resteraunt the night before,we decided to try them both out.
Our waiter was a laugh a minute which was nice,he was really friendly and attentive and took the time to explain each dish and recommend something to us,the place wasnt too busy as it was relatively early,so service was prompt and efficient.
I had the 3 hour roasted pork,which was covered in a slightly spicy finely chopped salad of red onion coriander and red bell pepper,and served with a small portion of pepper sauce,which is extremely powerful,so proceed with caution even if you are a veteran chili/spicy food fan,those Aji chilies are way hotter than the average habanero!!
My husband had a chicken and rice dish which although it was very pleasant,it was a touch on the bland side,but he loved it as he doesnt do spicy food!
The desserts are superb,i had the lemon tart,and my husband had the chocolate tart,delicious.
Or meal for two with drinks cost 48 euro,so considering the portion sizes (which were somewhat smaller than the first peruvian resteraunt we ate at )this is a bit overpriced,but nevertheless we enjoyed every mouthful,and would recommend others to eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Peru also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Casa Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Peru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.