We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Place

La Place
Buikslotermeerplein 123, 1025 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands
088-9998555
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Belgian, Coffee Shop, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I love la place, everything is Fresh and bio. You et whatever you want whenever you want.

The only négative point is that we cant have sandwiches or pizza at 2 or 3 pm because People in nerderlands eat kind of early

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    144
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Too busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a very tasty pizza. Cheap and freshly prepared right in front of you. The restaurant is so busy however that it feel like you're having lunch in the middle of central station. Tables / floor not very clean. Next time I would buy a sandwich here and take it outside.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So good and convenient we ate there twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We wandered into the V&D store while walking around not far from Dam Square our first evening in Amsterdam and found the restaurant. It was crowded and we were initially a little confused. There is buffet style food plus lots of options where they make it to order for you and we weren't sure how it worked but the cooks and other diners on line were helpful and we ended up with a great dinner both times. There was a great variety of food types to choose from and the prices were very reasonable. You pay for extras like ketchup or mayo packets but that didn't affect the overall good price. Though it was packed, getting our food was quick, the cooked to order food good. My husband picked a steak and it was grilled as we stood there. We found a table upstairs easily and had a leisurely dinner. There was a serve yourself water station if you didn't want to purchase a drink. We opted to get dessert to go from the bakery in the store adjacent to the restaurant area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to miss-great vegetarian choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

the food is all locally sourced and fresh! No frozen french fries! We saw them peeling and cutting the potatoes on site. We had their fresh hand tossed pizza as well as wok stirred fried rice. All vegetarian and delicious

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting experience with manager @La Place restaurant Duinrell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just had the most obnoxious ignorant unprofessional experience with a "so called Manager of the La Place restaurant operating at www.Duinrell.nl holiday resort in Holland. This individual considered it acceptable to throw a receipt in my face and state " I will not help you" when asked for his help to find some toast or kids cereal for my little boy as the limited buffet available did not include kids cereals he would eat. I travel a great deal and have NEVER experienced anything like this aggressive ignorance. La Place - executive team - invest in some basic customer service training for your staff and reprimand behaviour such as this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.