We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic brunch/lunch spot, something for everyone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Place

La Place
Buikslotermeerplein 123, 1025 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands
088-9998555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Coffee Shop, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Letham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch/lunch spot, something for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Never experienced this idea before, large food hall with different stations providing anything from apple pie to Japanese noodles! Just grab a tray and wonder round and pick what you fancy. Fabulous focaccia sandwiches, rustic breads, steaks, salads, hot vegetables, soups, smoothies, wine, coffee, you name it they have it, all freshly prepared good quality ingredients at reasonable prices.
My only gripe is that it is very hectic at busy times and it can be difficult to negotiate a tray of food and drink around such a busy area and also the charge for the toilet, a definite no no, when you have spent money having a meal here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    155
    36
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot which caters for any taste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I hadn't been to one of thee cafe before but was taken aback by the selection of food you can get. Lots of fresh healthy and not so healthy treats. Excellent for a break whilst shopping and plenty of space to sit and chat. Perfect location for those who are in a group and want something for everyone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“It's a great option for a healthy and quick lunch while shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This Restaurant La Place is normally found inside the V & D shops, but I also went to one in the Praxis in Amsterdam zuidost.

There is one in the city where I live, Amstelveen, and my review it is about this one, although the high quality of ingredients and food is similar in all of them.

They have those nice displays with vegetables, juices and food to start with. I like the variety of options available, the grilled options (fish chicken, beef…) and their pea soup that is offered only during the winter. The soup is think as tradition says it should be. The main point for me is that La Place has good quality of ingredients and, since it's a buffet, I can go for a quick sandwich or taking just a bit more time and get a nice grilled fish with vegetables.

Very convenient for a healthy and quick lunch. I never been there for dinner. Actually I think that, except for Thursday when it's late shopping night, the V & D shop and the La Place are closing at 18:00.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just happened by this place and decided to get a quick bite and something to drink. We both had a nice bowl of oyster and crab soup. It was very tasty. This is a cafeteria-style place, self-serve. We did both say it would be worth going back as there are many, many other choices.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place offers everything from a drink to a full blown meal. We only had drinks and cakes (three days running). Cakes delicious and lovely hot chocolate made with real chocolate. Plenty of seating, but sometimes have to share a very large table with others.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.