We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphrey's

Humphrey's
Nieuwezijds Kolk 23, 1012 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 422 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Their 3 courses for 24.95 euros was outstanding, generous portions, lovely food, good service. Would recommend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    212
    42
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“value and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Humphrey's was a great find. It had a great atmosphere, the food was good and it was certainly value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cold chewy food, rude waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

it's a formula restaurant. we went to the humphrey's at spuistraat 267. there's also another humphrey's nearby. and dozens of other ones around the country. ours was BAD. the fries and other potato dishes were cold and chewy and my wife ordered salmon, panfried on the skin. she asked the waitress to make sure to order it juicy, not dry through and through. but she got a dry and chewy one anyway. so when one of the senior waitresses asked us if everything was okay, my wife explained the salmon actually wasn't. the rude waitress told my wife it was her own fault! How my wife should have ordered a RAW one! I had to remind that woman we where here guests, to get us what we ordered instead of insulting us. so they got us another plate. also baked dry and chewy. another waitress apologized and got us 2 glasses of red wine for free... all in all: don't visit humphrey's restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant and value for money in Dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Been here 12 times - once a trip every time I've been to Amsterdam.

Their 25 euro set meal is brilliant value for the quality of food - never fails to please!

Staff friends, ambience great, food delicious - just go!! But let's hope it stays a bit of a secret.... :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yum,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Right next door to our hotel. Just try it...absolutely fabulous. Wish they had this restaurant chain in Canada.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humphrey's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Humphrey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphrey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.