We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Bark

Brasserie Bark
Van Baerlestraat 120 | Wouwermanstraat 1, 1071 BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 675 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #495 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Description: Inspired by the characteristic brasseries in Brussels and Paris, Brasserie Bark is a lively seafood restaurant in Amsterdam's museum quarter. On the menu you'll find an assortment of fish and seafood dishes, from oysters to lobster, salmon to sole and even swordfish. The house speciality is the 'fruits de mer', an impressive selection of shellfish served over ice. The restaurant takes particular pride in only using fresh produce, which means that the menu changes 5-6 times a year, according to the season. Rather unusually for a restaurant in Amsterdam, Brasserie Bark stays open until midnight, so whether you are going for an informal dinner or business meeting, time need not be an issue.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed a spectacular dinner. I had perch with lemon-dill sauce, a small side salad, tiny potatoes and sautéed green beans. Another in our group had hake (merluza) and the husbands had cod with mustard sauce. Two of us had a superb fruits of the forest tart while one had almond Bavarian cream with macaroons on top and another had Bavarian cream with caramel. It was a wonderful two hour meal with elegant presentation and excellent service.





Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stumbled across this place when I was visiting Amsterdam. I love it. The Lobster was delicious. Service was excellent. The waitress's were very friendly, helpful and efficient, compared to other waiting staff that I've encountered in the Netherlands. It wasn't a cheap meal - about 70 euros, including a few glasses of Champagne (which bumps up the price by almost 50%). The décor is just to my taste - Art Deco, relaxed atmosphere, with a mixture of clientele - smart and casual. I will definitely return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fifitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Low-key sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

French menu with outstanding seafood. Don't miss the mushroom oyster soup if it is available (menu varies according to what is available in the market). Wonderful wines and service. A quiet, sophisticated room in a quiet neighborhood, not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great little restaurant with very good service and excellent seafood. The fish was cooked to perfection, wine selection was good, not too crowded on the Sunday evening we were there. Near museums and Concertgebouw.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sea food special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent fresh sea food and fish very large helpings and good wine. Very pleasant staff. Convenient to concert hall and museum district. We went on a Sunday night and locals were there as well as tourists. Salad comes as a starter as no extra with lovely dressing and great walnuts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loretta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Bark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Bark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing