We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Bark

Brasserie Bark
Van Baerlestraat 120 | Wouwermanstraat 1, 1071 BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 675 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,051 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Bistro, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Description: Inspired by the characteristic brasseries in Brussels and Paris, Brasserie Bark is a lively seafood restaurant in Amsterdam's museum quarter. On the menu you'll find an assortment of fish and seafood dishes, from oysters to lobster, salmon to sole and even swordfish. The house speciality is the 'fruits de mer', an impressive selection of shellfish served over ice. The restaurant takes particular pride in only using fresh produce, which means that the menu changes 5-6 times a year, according to the season. Rather unusually for a restaurant in Amsterdam, Brasserie Bark stays open until midnight, so whether you are going for an informal dinner or business meeting, time need not be an issue.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed a spectacular dinner. I had perch with lemon-dill sauce, a small side salad, tiny potatoes and sautéed green beans. Another in our group had hake (merluza) and the husbands had cod with mustard sauce. Two of us had a superb fruits of the forest tart while one had almond Bavarian cream with macaroons on top and another had Bavarian cream with caramel. It was a wonderful two hour meal with elegant presentation and excellent service.





Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    51
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stumbled across this place when I was visiting Amsterdam. I love it. The Lobster was delicious. Service was excellent. The waitress's were very friendly, helpful and efficient, compared to other waiting staff that I've encountered in the Netherlands. It wasn't a cheap meal - about 70 euros, including a few glasses of Champagne (which bumps up the price by almost 50%). The décor is just to my taste - Art Deco, relaxed atmosphere, with a mixture of clientele - smart and casual. I will definitely return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Low-key sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

French menu with outstanding seafood. Don't miss the mushroom oyster soup if it is available (menu varies according to what is available in the market). Wonderful wines and service. A quiet, sophisticated room in a quiet neighborhood, not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great little restaurant with very good service and excellent seafood. The fish was cooked to perfection, wine selection was good, not too crowded on the Sunday evening we were there. Near museums and Concertgebouw.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sea food special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent fresh sea food and fish very large helpings and good wine. Very pleasant staff. Convenient to concert hall and museum district. We went on a Sunday night and locals were there as well as tourists. Salad comes as a starter as no extra with lovely dressing and great walnuts.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Bark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Bark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Bark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.