We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Bark

Brasserie Bark
Van Baerlestraat 120, 1071 BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 675 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #971 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Description: Inspired by the characteristic brasseries in Brussels and Paris, Brasserie Bark is a lively seafood restaurant in Amsterdam's museum quarter. On the menu you'll find an assortment of fish and seafood dishes, from oysters to lobster, salmon to sole and even swordfish. The house speciality is the 'fruits de mer', an impressive selection of shellfish served over ice. The restaurant takes particular pride in only using fresh produce, which means that the menu changes 5-6 times a year, according to the season. Rather unusually for a restaurant in Amsterdam, Brasserie Bark stays open until midnight, so whether you are going for an informal dinner or business meeting, time need not be an issue.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stumbled across this place when I was visiting Amsterdam. I love it. The Lobster was delicious. Service was excellent. The waitress's were very friendly, helpful and efficient, compared to other waiting staff that I've encountered in the Netherlands. It wasn't a cheap meal - about 70 euros, including a few glasses of Champagne (which bumps up the price by almost 50%). The décor is just to my taste - Art Deco, relaxed atmosphere, with a mixture of clientele - smart and casual. I will definitely return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    44
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Low-key sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

French menu with outstanding seafood. Don't miss the mushroom oyster soup if it is available (menu varies according to what is available in the market). Wonderful wines and service. A quiet, sophisticated room in a quiet neighborhood, not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great little restaurant with very good service and excellent seafood. The fish was cooked to perfection, wine selection was good, not too crowded on the Sunday evening we were there. Near museums and Concertgebouw.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sea food special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent fresh sea food and fish very large helpings and good wine. Very pleasant staff. Convenient to concert hall and museum district. We went on a Sunday night and locals were there as well as tourists. Salad comes as a starter as no extra with lovely dressing and great walnuts.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lucky Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After arriving in Amsterdam we made a good find by having dinner at Brasserie Bark. The Cauliflower soup was excellent. We chose the Lobster Special and Sardines for our entrees and both were very good. A narrow restaurant on a street with many choices and near the museums, this was a nice way to start our stay in Amsterdam. I would definitely choose seafood at this restaurant and try the specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Bark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Bark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Bark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.