We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name is Bond ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bond

Bond
Valeriusstraat 128b, 1075 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 676 4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $34 - $39
Cuisines: French, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Restaurant Bond is located in a Residential area next to Vondelpark, in Amsterdam Old South. Stylish interior, Brasserie, French Cuisine.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The name is Bond ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A bit of the beaten track (although when the weather is clement, just a 10 minute walk from the Hilton), Bond (yes, named after James, but that is where the link ends) provides a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and friendly service. Vegetable risotto, rib-eye steak and venison all deliciously prepared. Special attention was paid to the fact that one of us is lactose intolerant, to the point that it was even double checked whether the sherbet for dessert actually did not contain diary products. A bit of a somber setting in winter, but in summer the Vondelpark is a closeby attraction for a digestive after-dinner walk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Last week we visited this restaurant on two consecutive evenings and enjoyed the food, the housewine and the attentive service. We had grilled tuna Euro 23,95, salmon 18,95 and steak frites (homemade)21,95. The housewine Sideways for Euro 22,50 was delicious and very reasonably priced. The friendly and relaxed service added to the pleasant evening. We do recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bond never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I took my extended family - eight adults - to dinner at Bond last night. It was a special occasion, marking our reunion to celebrate my Dad's 75th and my parent's 50th. I spoke with Koen, the restaurant manager, ahead of time and he presented a fantastic meal. We have eaten here several times and the chef and Koen never fail to surprise and impress us. Last night we enjoyed light starters followed by the most delicious salmon I have ever tasted. It was raw, marinated and then topped with a tandoori crust. The flavors just exploded in your mouth - I've never had anything like it. Shrimp and breen in a lobster bisque followed and then Dutch beef. The dessert was mocha semi-freddo and chocolate. The entire meal was absolutely fantastic. Koen had carefully matched different wines with each course and the combinations were brilliant. He even organized for some sparklers during dessert. Throughout Koen's service was attentive, funny and sincere. He even remembered which wines my Dad had ordered when we ate here last April. Wow. When my husband arrived at dessert because of a late meeting and then cancelled trains, Koen asked the chef to quickly whip up a main course for him. Bond has terrific food and amazing service; we will return again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This restaurant looks lovely. The decor is stylish and the menu looks promising. We went for the four-course surprise menu ... Definitely a mistake judging by all the good reviews here. Our first course was described as house marinated salmon and was horrible ... Tasted like a curry wurst sauce. Lobster soup as a second course was lovely but spoiled by the bits of raw tuna floating in it. I quite enjoyed the duck in an orange sauce which almost too subtle ,but it was unremarkable. All in all, ended up wishing we'd gone somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Culinary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a night booked at the Apollolaan Hilton and needed a dinner spot within easy walking distance of the hotel. Bond surpassed our expectations of a neighborhood bistro! Menu offered several nice options: beef, duck, fish, etc. Ordered the three-course menu and was pleasantly surprised: a lovely salmon appetizer, an exquisite wild duck main, and a stylish dessert of olive-oil gelato and chocolate torte. Wine and service was also outstanding. Dining room was comfortable and relaxed. All in all a superb evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bond also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Bond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.