We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, dozy staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Patou to your Saves list
Hotel Patou
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good hotel, dozy staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Patou hotel for a weekend in July. We were in a superiour room - which size-wise for Amsterdam wasn't bad (meaning it was about 3 times the size of the bed overall). The room had a modern/minimalist decor - but could have done with some re-painting as there were lots of bangs etc.
When we arrived, we asked the guy at reception a few questions about the local area, how to get places etc - he was half asleep - couldn't answer any of them. Happily there was someone else at reception who answered for us. The next day at breakfast, same thing - the waiter had clearly had a very hard night - he managed to mix up all our order (which wasn't very complex), and then hung out in a corner avoiding our looks as we tried to get more coffee.
That aside, the hotel is really nice, in a very good location, and for Amsterdam, is good value for money. I will probably stay there again when I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    20
    20
    15
See reviews for
6
53
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Great hotel that is located on the main fashion street in Amsterdam, all the big labels are there. It’s only a short walk to the museums and the start of the entertainment strip. The trams will get you to the other end of the city if you want to be at the red light end. The rooms are a very modern feel and are clean and tidy, not that big but nothing seems to be big in Europe. No wireless internet but a cable from reception will have you plugged in for free. The restaurant down stairs is open for breakfast and lunch only; it has good food and beautiful and fun staff. I recommend this one for people with a bit of style who like to shop and don’t mind a modern feel.

  • Liked — Clean & close to everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I loved this hotel. The hotel is on a very lovely street with quite a few high end shops. The location is great as it is so close to vondel Park, Leidseplein, the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum. The tram lines No. 1 and 5 are just up the street and so convenient for getting around Amsterdam. The room was very nice, clean and modern. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was very good. I liked the fact that the hotel entrance was not so obvious. I felt very safe in this hotel and in this area of Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — I liked the unique room and clean, mondern bathroom.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Very nice and clean boutique hotel on one of the most posh street in Amsterdam. Close to Gogh Museum and 10 min to Leidseplein, where there are many restaurants and bars. The only thing you might notice is that windows are not double-glazed, so you could hear noise from outside. But basically it is a quiet neighbourhood and should not be any problem. It might be difficult to find entrance since it is in first floor, but continental breakfast in bar/restaurant is a nice way to start exploring the city. Definitely recommended for visitors looking for decent stay.

  • Liked — Cleaness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Single glazed window
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stylish room in a great neighborhood. Near Vondel Park and Museums. Front desk staff very helpful especially Klas? who was wonderful with arranging a few out of town excursions and giving very good suggestions for restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. Off the typical tourist path, but convenient to everything with many tram lines nearby.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Quite different to any hotel I have previously stayed in. Strange entrance/ reception area, but rooms are absolutely immaculate and very tastefully designed. Staff are very friendly and very interested in your opinion of the hotel/ any problems you had etc.
I got a deal in which i got a deluxe room for the price of a standard, and to be honest I expected it to be a bit bigger, but it is still more than adequate for 2 people.
It is within walking distance of the main shopping area, pubs and restaurants.
The metro is around the corner which brings you to central station, dam square and the red light district, although we only got it on arrival and when we were leaving as it is easy enough to walk anywhere else

  • Liked — The design and layout of the rooms
  • Disliked — No hotel bar and halls were a bit cold and bare
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Well, we were seduced by it's "modern" design, superb beds, walk in shower and generous reviews on it to book it.
Design: actually appeared to be good on pictures, not so practical in reality though. There was too much of the black wood around as per my taste, neither walking shower nor toilet had door, so make sure you travel partner has a healthy stomach or, otherwise, you would feel that it's in your bedroom directly. Besides, taking shower could be cold, since room was not that warm after all. My partner was OK with the bed, but I've got pain next morning, I think it's too soft, but that the matter of taste.
Breakfast was rather basic, that surprised me since they've got a whole bratisserie on the ground floor to themselves.
The only thing which was really immaculate was their service from A to Z.
Location is close to museums and VIP shops, but far from center.
Overall, if we had paid for that as for a 3* hotel, we would have been satisfied, but for the price we paid, we left disappointed. Next hotel, NH Shiller, was so much better for much less money.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#69 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patou

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patou 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Patou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patou Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.