We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tunisian delicious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainarai

Rainarai
Prinsengracht 252, 1016 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
0206249791
Improve this listing
Ranked #986 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tunisian delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely tiny restaurant with north African twist. You can choose from 5 different main courses. I wanted to taste them all. Not the cheapest lunch, but definitely worth every euro.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feel like being souht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

At the end of the must visit Westerpark you can find the Rainarai. This is a Tunesian restaurant that in the summer places fire outside and makes you feel you are south, warm and enjoying the great bio and tasty food close to the dessert.
If visiting amsterdam with good weather is a MUST

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and chillout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tempted by its great location and a cute way they arranged the outdoor area, we ate a lunch at Rainarai. Food is more expensive than we expected, but it's quality was totally worth it. Pumpkin and feta thing is a must-have.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came across Rainarai (Prinsengracht) by chance and ended up with an enjoyable meal, sitting outside (tiny wooden tables and chairs). The food was tasty, the chicken was tender, and they warm up the food for you after you've made your selection at the counter. My friend literally cleaned up her plate! Good for a casual dinner, and it was nice to chill out with a cup of tea by the canal on a warm evening. Prices are similar to most of the other restaurants I went to in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Expensive and not so good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Food quality is ok but nothing special. Seating outside looks nice but not comfortable enough. We had no meat choice for our plate (it was finished), we did not get any compensation, and that would be very appreciated given the price we have been charged...
I miss a real Algerian couscous in Amsterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainarai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rainarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainarai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.