We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like being souht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainarai

Rainarai
Prinsengracht 252, 1016 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
0206249791
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,012 of 2,762 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel like being souht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

At the end of the must visit Westerpark you can find the Rainarai. This is a Tunesian restaurant that in the summer places fire outside and makes you feel you are south, warm and enjoying the great bio and tasty food close to the dessert.
If visiting amsterdam with good weather is a MUST

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bertha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and chillout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tempted by its great location and a cute way they arranged the outdoor area, we ate a lunch at Rainarai. Food is more expensive than we expected, but it's quality was totally worth it. Pumpkin and feta thing is a must-have.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came across Rainarai (Prinsengracht) by chance and ended up with an enjoyable meal, sitting outside (tiny wooden tables and chairs). The food was tasty, the chicken was tender, and they warm up the food for you after you've made your selection at the counter. My friend literally cleaned up her plate! Good for a casual dinner, and it was nice to chill out with a cup of tea by the canal on a warm evening. Prices are similar to most of the other restaurants I went to in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“Expensive and not so good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Food quality is ok but nothing special. Seating outside looks nice but not comfortable enough. We had no meat choice for our plate (it was finished), we did not get any compensation, and that would be very appreciated given the price we have been charged...
I miss a real Algerian couscous in Amsterdam!

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Algerian Food, Good Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a small Algerian restaurant with a few tables at the intersection of Prinsengracht and Lauriergracht. (canals) Walk on the left hand side of Prinsengracht coming from the Leidse Plein and it is on the corner just past the smaller Lauriergracht. It is a good place to combine with a walk through the Jordaan, the most interesting neighborhood in historic Amsterdam. The small combination plate of 3 items from the buffet cost 13 Euros, if you are not a 20 year old guy with a ravenous appetite there is no need to get the large plate. No nouvelle cuisine restraint on portions practiced here. Vegetarian and meat dishes were delicious. The cook was friendly and explained the dishes and our questions about Algerian cuisine. My experience with restaurants in the tourist parts of Amsterdam is that they have New York prices without the flavor, this restaurant is an exception.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainarai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rainarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing