We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb subtly spiced Algerian dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainarai

Rainarai
Prinsengracht 252, 1016 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0206249791
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,011 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb subtly spiced Algerian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Located on a picturesque canal Rainarai has a handful of tables in & out. Pick your combination plate from the cooked dishes on display & their helpful staff reheat in a steam oven (rather than microwave). Interesting vegetable combinations combined with meltingly tender lamb with many layers of flavour make for an enjoyable informal spot. We visited once before & the staff recognised us which is a good sign. All organic too, a real find....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food and nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were in Rainarai at Prinsengracht and loved it. We always passed by with our bikes and always smelled the delicious flavours until one Saturday we decided to stop and try it.
Don´t expect a lot about the service, just enjoy the food! That's the concept of this place, authentic dishes (seriously tasty) for a honest price. I had a vegetable cous-cous and my boyfriend had some rice with curry and lamb chops...delicious!!
It seriously worths a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Rainarai Westerpark”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A disappointing experience with both service and food significantly worse than average, only the surroundings and weather saved the evening from being a complete disaster. The starters that we ordered never arrived , for the mains 3 of our party ordered chicken tagine (€21), none of these were seasoned or had any of the qualities or ingredients of a normal tagine, the dish was just a bland mess of peppers, uncooked courgettes and carrots (untrimmed) and leathery chicken swimming in grease. The other 2 mains were both Lamb Mechewe (€23) which consisted of 3 small pieces of overcooked lambing swimming in grease with the same uncooked veg etc . Couscous was average and Bread and Aioli were ok when they eventually arrived at the end of the meal. The waitress asked whether we were enjoying food and we explained why not and were offered a free coffee which we declined as by this time just wanted to leave. When i paid the bill i asked the barman to point the chef out to me so i could speak with him and the chef literally ran away which pretty much sums up the attitude of the place towards customers. Not recommended although i would go back just for drinks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy on a lazy afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

A bit hard to find though.. There 2 Rainarai in Amsterdam, the one in the prinsengracht is smaller. But I like the ambiance more in the other branch. It is indeed pricey but if u come before 18:00
they serve small meals like the one I had which is Algerian chicken. It was lovely!!! and cost only 6:75 as far as i can remember. Service is a bit slow though. but would definitely comeback :)This is a nice place to hang out in the summer time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well thought out dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a lunch here, but we could have happily sat there all afternoon. We liked the way the building had been converted to create a airy and really groovy restaurant. Cool touches like the outside open fire with the huge pot of chicken casserole/soup cooking, made it a great place to hang out. I think it would be fantastic for a big birthday meal.

I had a feta salad and I really appreciated the addition of yummy extras like the smoked almonds, dried apricots and pomegranate. Quite a limited lunch menu but why over complicate things! Went with other New Zealanders, and the staff were very good about the fact that we couldn't speak Dutch and that we asked for then gave them advice on how to make the mysterious flat white. The restaurant seemed a little under staffed, causing a few errors and forgot bread moments.

Lots of space to park your bikes.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainarai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rainarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainarai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.