We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant New Year's Eve at the Mayur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mayur

mayur
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 203, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6232142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Wirral, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant New Year's Eve at the Mayur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We been eating at the Mayur since 1984 and the food and service are still as excellent as ever. It's been 3 years since our last visit but the owner recognised us and made us as welcome as ever.

The chicken chat and saag ghost are my all time favourites.

Highly recommended we just wish he would open a sister restaurant in Heswall on the Wirral!

Jenny and Pete

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    91
    40
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Doesn't worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Mayur is a lovely restaurant in terms of food, atmosphere and service.
But, the prices are too high for what you get. 22 Euros for a small portion of chicken massala is too much.

If you fancy Indian food and have no budget limits that the place for you. But there are better places to visit if money is an issue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“warm and friendly Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Situated in the centre of Amsterdam, 5 minutes from the Leidseplein this restaurant is problaby one of the best Indian in Amsterdam. You 'll get good advice and personal is warm and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beste Indian restaurant i've ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just got back from a lovely evening at Mayur with my parents. We wanted to go for some Indian food, so we serchead for the best one here in Amsterdam and that's Mayur Indian Restaurant. So we went to this restaurant and I can say without a doubt that Mayur is by far the best. The food is wonderfull and you've lots to choose from! The price is, comparing to other restaurants, more than right. The service is so good; verybody is friendly, patient, quick and you get a lot of attention. We are definitely coming back to Mayur. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average kitchen but friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant dinner in Mayur. Warm and friendly atmosphere and friendly service. Allthough the menu is not realy exciting and the desserts are rather dull, the quality is good.
Small portions and prices are above average

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mayur also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to mayur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mayur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.