We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way Italian restaurant worth hunting for it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Incanto

Incanto
amstel 2, 1017 aa Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020.42.33.681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 2,471 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $143
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Out of the way Italian restaurant worth hunting for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Incanto sits on the second floor near Old Town. It is a very small intimate setting, recommended by our concierge, with only 16 seats in front and maybe enough room in the back for 2 groups of 6-8. The wait staff were pure Italian and insisted on pairing some great wines with the meals. Thinking of the cannoli, lobster gnocchi, fig and cheese plate still makes our mouth water. The staff were delightful. May be hard to find but we would definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    75
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hugely overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our party of 6 adults ages 48 to 59, visited on the recommendation of concierge at our hotel

It was extremely disappointing for the value and the service was very slow

Menu very fussy. We had risotto which was far too cheesy with peas. There was zero presentation to the dish, just a dollop of risotto on cheap looking plates
I would have been embarrassed to serve this to my friends if I cooked this at home, never mind paying 17 euros for this dish

The wine was mega expensive, averaging maybe 50 euros for a bottle

If you are looking for traditional Italian cooking such as spaghetti bologna see, penne Arrabiatta, do not come here
I have dined in Michelin star restaurants so I know what good food looks like and my other friends do too and all of us felt that the dining experience was poor

We paid 270 euro for very average food and felt let down.
Sorry

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Gourmet Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Everything you would expect from high end, fine dinning gourmet restaurant. Great unique chef dishes in a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the best Italian restaurant in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

the staff was lovely, their recommendations did fit to what we liked to eat and drink. Wine and food were great! Will go there again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went there following a local friend's recommendation. The food was good, the service was good and the view was good. It's a good restaurant as you would understand but to me it's nothing that would make me going there again and again if i lived locally.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Incanto also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Incanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Incanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.