We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but dodgy service on payment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Incanto

Incanto
amstel 2, 1017 aa Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020.42.33.681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $57 - $143
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food but dodgy service on payment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were referred by our hotel concierge and the food was good, but expensive for the portion size. The risotto was by far the best I have ever tasted, so if you go be sure to try this as they are famous for it. We also had the wild boar ragu pasta, lobster gnocchi and the chicken special. All were good but I would not order any again. The view was beautiful from one side of the restaurant facing the canal, and ugly from the other so be sure to request a table facing the canal! When we went to pay and requested separate bills, the server was a dick about it and was very flustered and confused. It was good, but don't need to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    62
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good, went twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Wonderfully authentic Italian food served beautifully. The center window seat with the pillows is very romantic with a gorgeous view of the canal. Wild boar ragu and the fish, all excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good view....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very nice menu.. should suite all kinds of people.
Food quality is good and prices are reasonable.
Waiters are friendly... good choice of Wines
Its on the 2nd floor of a street corner. Great Window view of
Amsterdam City edge.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in a great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went here with 8 colleagues for dinner.

The restaurant is based in an old and small building and as a result of this the restaurant is spread out over multiple layers leading to some logistic challenges for the owners. They have however solved this in such a way that it 'adds' to the ambiance instead of becoming annoying. It is however all a little small so you have to like that.

The location of the restaurant is very good at the corner of very popular point in Amsterdam. Some of the seats have great views on the street.

The quality of the food was excellent making this one of Amsterdam's best Italian restaurants. Pricing is also a little high but not unreasonable for the quality delivered. Well recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Watch the charges on your bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were recommended this Italian after asking our concierge who booked it for us. When we arrived we seriously thought of walking out it was like a train station and romantic only if you wished to hear everyone else around you. You are seated all In a row with approximately 250mm gap between each table. The food was good quality but not for a charge of 177 euros for two and we were double charged on our bill for wine which we could not read till we got out. Staff treated locals different to tourist little things but different. Please read you bill and check and ask prices water is very expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Incanto also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Incanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Incanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.