We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Cote Ouest

Restaurant Cote Ouest
Gravenstraat 20hs, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 320 8998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 2,509 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: At Cote Ouest we do what we do best and we're proud of it: giving our guests a warm welcome and serving delicious and honest cooking. Salade Chevre Chaud, Moules, Pommeau, Huitres, sans gluten, Soupe a l'Oignon, organique, Confit de Canard, Galette au Saumon Fume, Orange Givre, Brand Imperator, Plateau de Fromages, Crepe Citron et Sucre, Cidre, Cafe Richard, French wines, Tarte Tatin, Monbazillac, Poisson du Jour... Come along and get a bite of our hospitality and honest food. Discover our lunch and dinner menu and keep an eye on those blackboard specials. A bientot!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found this restaurant by accident - fortunately. Went there twice, the first time midweek with very few customers. Second time - Friday night - we booked and it was very busy. The food is well cooked and extremely tasty. If visiting Amsterdam we would go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    80
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good french restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

this is the second time that I have eaten at this restaurant. The food is typical french country food, if there s such a thing. It is not a fancy place, wood tables with comfortable seating and a very nice menu selection as well as daily specials. The wine list was varied as well and the price points seemed good. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just by Chance, we stopped In...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Oh, goodness what luck. We came early, about 7pm and got a Great seat before the rush. The food was undeniably delicious and we tried several things. Huge lovely wine list, the hosts speak
4-5 languages each, and deliver service and quality. I highly recommend getting in here when in
Amsterdam. I must say, Amsterdam hosts many excellent chefs, and this is surely one of them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eaten here twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had great, and thoughtful, food. It's not your usual standard tourist fare, this is good French food. I especially like the goat cheese on galette - yummy! The proprietor is present, amiable and on the ball. Great, homely restaurant. :-D

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A refuge for weary travelers in busy Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

How fortunate my husband and I were to stroll into Restaurant Cote Ouest on our stopover in Amsterdam en route from Nairobi to New York. We took advantage of an overnight stay to come into the center of the city for a nice meal, and just happened to choose this restaurant for its cozy look. We arrived slightly before the official dinner opening of 5:30, but the owners personally welcomed us in, got us seated, and brought out our drinks right away. We were so tired and jetlagged that at first we didn't notice the amazing menu, but the owners guided us right through it. We then enjoyed one of the best meals we've had in a long time, starting with mixed wild mushrooms en croute and progressing to a rabbit stew with mashed potatoes and cabbage (my husband) and a galette with cheese, bacon, tomato and salad (me). Everything was fresh and using seasonal ingredients, and true to the Breton roots of the restaurant. Truly an oasis in what would otherwise have been a grueling 2-day trip. This restaurant deserves every success!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cote Ouest also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Cote Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Cote Ouest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.