We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazar

Bazar
Albert Cuypstraat 182, 1073 BL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020 6750544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 2,338 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked this restaurant prior to our visit to amsterdam for my friends 30th birthday. We was not disapointed! The place its self was basic but that added to the feel. The food was plentyful, delicious and reasonabley priced. We all (9 people) left with smiles on our faces! The stafg was quite helpful too. Definatley a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    209
    54
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellebt food and serving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went there after in sunny afternoon just after 5pm. When we got there it was quite empty inside, but it started to fill quite fast. Waitress was very kind and did her best to make us feel good.
We got their homemade humous and bread as starter. It was so delicious. Then we shared vegetarian meal with tofu, lots of vegetables and served with rice. It was fantastic. And as dessert we got baklava. Very sweet but amazing dessert.
We both were so full, although we shared all our food.
Definitely will return here to try other foods they offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bohemian cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great vibe, very reasonable food, huge ex-church venue with massive loft space and lanterns. Eastern food and sharing dishes. Located on 182 Albert Cuypmarket. Look out for the big green neon sign. Good veggie selection but bit heavy on the carbs - potato in the casserole, chapati, chips and mayo, rice! Could do with a few more falafel and fewer potatoes I think!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a nice place with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We ate here for several times and every time the food was just great!
The restaurant is very beautiful with many huge chandeliers, different tables and colourful tiles on the wall. In the evenings it's very crowded so you maybe have to wait 10 minutes to get a table but it's really okay.
There is one thing we didn't like so much: becauce it's so crowded and the music it was a bit loud in there.
Mostly the staff was very friendly and fast, but the last time our waiter was a very slow so we had to ask several times for our drinks and the bill.
Try the mint tea, it's great! Every food we tried tasted good and every time it was really more than enough...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant - don't be put off by the slightly daunting exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great service, delicious food in very generous quantities and amazing setting. The humus and meat kebabs are highly recommended. Do give this a go if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.